03-29-2019, 10:23 AM
Free Member

Howdy,

I've being reading this forum for a while now. To be honest, I've been post-poning this project for 2-3 years now.

My setup is complete, I got a JVC HR-S912U, TBC-1000 with a BlackMagic Intensity Pro 4K and Black Diamond VC500.

Yesterday I stumbled across a Panasonic DVR-620 which is a DVD/VHS recorder combo which according to the specs is able to upscale the quality to 1080p.

So I came to wondering if the video quality would be better if my VHS was going through this unit first? As from what I understand would upscale the video?

Do you guys have any input/opinion on that?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-29-2019, 03:34 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,307 Times in 982 Posts
Instead of the "Black Diamond VC500", I think you mean the Diamond Multimedia VC500. It happens to be a decent product and a favorite device for several years.

It never fails that people will try to re-invent the wheel after 35 years of VHS processing. Forget about upscaling low-resolution tape sources -- it looks blurry and freaky, like a small picture blown up into a big fuzzy one, and it amplkifies tape noise and distortion. That's not what high definition is about. Leave scaling to your display devices. Do yourself a favor -- avoid DVD/VHS combos. They are among the worst playback devices for what you want to do.

Does that JVC HR-S912U have a built-in line tbc? Are you sure you don't mean JVC HR-S3912U? It doesn't have a line thc, so it's not suitable for capture. I'm sure you know the difference between a TBC-1000 external frame-level tbc and a line-tbc? You need both. A frame-level tbc will not correct scanline timing distortion, and a line-level tbc will not correct frame timing errors.
03-30-2019, 10:24 AM
Free Member

i Sanlyn,