Quantcast Weird pixel-like bar at left DV screen - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
11-05-2020, 01:27 PM
Bruinekees Bruinekees is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Good afternoon,

I've recently been trying a new method of Time Base Correction. I really need a form of TBC because I almost daily use VHS camcorders (just because I like them and their simplicity far more than modern digital camcorders.)

My old set-up:
-Philips and Grundig (VHS) camcorders
-Daewoo VCR
-ARISTONA Dvd recorder as pass-trough TBC
-WinTV PcI-card.

My new set-up exists out of:
-Philips and Grundig (VHS) camcorders
-Daewoo VCR
-Panasonic NV-GS400 (MiniDV) camcorder as pass-trough TBC.

Anytime I connect my VHS camcorder or VCR to the Panasonic MiniDV to digitize the analog videos to my PC via MotionDV I get this strange bar (raarprobleem.png

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.
) with weird pixels on the left of the picture. This can't be from a DV-tape, because I only use the DV device as a pass-trough. However the DV camcorder clearly functions as a really good TBC pass-trough..but it has a very weird malfunction. (The bar is also seen when playing a standard DV-Tape in the Panasonic Dv camcorder)

Anyone familiar with this kinda malfunctions?

I hope someone will write back,

Greetings from Holland!


Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-05-2020, 09:16 PM
kingbean kingbean is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Australia
Posts: 21
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I haven't experienced that before in any of my DV transfers, but if it's persistent across your VCR passthrough and in-camera DV playback, I'd start by looking at the camcorder output. The plug itself, your firewire cable, your PC's firewire input. They'd be the most likely suspects?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-06-2020, 08:48 AM
Bruinekees Bruinekees is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for your reply! @kingbean Appreciate it..

Everything seems fine, because if I put an Digital8 camcorder on the firewire and also with a new wire, it works perfectly, just as smooth as with the dv camcorder, but without the weird pixel-bar. (Drivers are also installed correctly and updated)

If I connect the DV camcorder to my television set, with RCA or with S-Video the same bar appears.

I really don't know what it could be, since I don't have that much experience with digital devices. (that's actually one of the reasons I prefer analog haha)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-06-2020, 11:07 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 906
Thanked 205 Times in 175 Posts
Sounds like there's something wrong with the camcorder then.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
digitize, fault, minidv, tbc, vhs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camcorder CCD pixel count on Hi8/Digital8 cameras? HBB360 Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 7 02-02-2020 12:47 PM
How to hide a stuck or dead pixel? Spotty Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 02-11-2019 05:04 AM
BVP-4 Plus Split Screen doesn't clear to the left BeerOnABeach Video Hardware Repair 0 05-09-2017 12:47 PM
FYI: Still two JVC-SR-V10U left on eBay! JT_too Marketplace 3 02-04-2013 05:23 PM
Screen protectors for matte screen LCD on Macbook pro laptop? Sossity Computers 1 12-09-2010 07:01 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM