Quantcast Site JS bug in Chrome? [BUG REPORT] - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
09-29-2021, 12:59 PM
mbassiouny mbassiouny is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 71
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Hi there,

This is directed mainly to side admins, but others are free to comment if they are facing the same issue.

The website does not work properly with the latest chrome version for Windows (seems fine on linux). Also works fine on Firefox.

Bug:
The page loads, displays content, 1 second later it turns to STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION death screen. or sometimes status_not_implemented death screen

Since the issue happens after loading, clicking on X (next to url) before the page finishes loading avoids the issue. Also disabling Javascript entirely for Digitalfaq solves the issue.

JS probably is the culprit, I don't have more time to debug this, disable extensions one by one, etc, but I thought it is worth giving you a small warning about it and see if other users are having the same issue.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank mbassiouny for this useful post: RobustReviews (09-29-2021)
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-29-2021, 05:55 PM
RobustReviews RobustReviews is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: London - UK
Posts: 193
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
This site has various issues - I've politely raised some and they've been met with curt replies.

It'll start paying a Google penalty in late 2021 if the current round of speculation is to be believed, it's a bit silly for a site that's 50% dedicated to web hosting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-29-2021, 07:17 PM
servese43 servese43 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 54
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Also, in Firefox (on Linux at least) the reload/stop loading button rapidly flashes. The only way to stop this is by clicking the stop loading button, which presumably stops loading the JS script that's causing the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-29-2021, 07:38 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,169
Thanked 1,990 Times in 1,716 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbassiouny View Post
The website does not work properly with the latest chrome version for Windows (seems fine on linux).
Exact version? We'll need that to recreate. "Latest" can actually vary.

Quote:
Bug:
The page loads, displays content, 1 second later it turns to STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION death screen. or sometimes status_not_implemented death screen
That can also be client-side.

Quote:
JS probably is the culprit, I don't have more time to debug this, disable extensions one by one, etc, but I thought it is worth giving you a small warning about it and see if other users are having the same issue.
Probably. JS sucks, still a necessary evil.
If you have time, please do help us troubleshoot. Spread thin right now.
Hopefully others don't have issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by servese43 View Post
Also, in Firefox (on Linux at least) the reload/stop loading button rapidly flashes. The only way to stop this is by clicking the stop loading button, which presumably stops loading the JS script that's causing the issue.
Which version? I use Firefox in Linux daily. With Firefox, it's often an addon at fault.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobustReviews View Post
This site has various issues - I've politely raised some and they've been met with curt replies.
It'll start paying a Google penalty in late 2021 if the current round of speculation is to be believed, it's a bit silly for a site that's 50% dedicated to web hosting.
You insisted we just slap an SSL on the site, to get the "almighty" HTTPS green lock, and call it a day. What you don't comprehend is it isn't that easy. It'll break the site. Why else do you think Google hasn't ever enforced it? They've been saber rattling since 2014. The protocol is ideal, yes, but it sometimes takes work to get there. We're not there yet.

FYI, that green lock only gives warm and fuzzies, it isn't actually security of any kind. In general, your computer/phone would have to already be exploited. So crap security is on you, not us. The only way anybody could really exploit non-https, without an exploited device, is via MITM unknown WiFi logging -- ie, don't use random WiFi or free VPNs. For any site, https or not. But it's not like this is your bank account, it's a user forum for Q&A. Site Staff access is firewalled behind VPN, and that's really all that matters. Follow good online rules: don't use the same password, use uniques per site.

Web hosting has nothing to do with SSL. You're conflating.

We'll eventually get this implemented, but it will be done when the site gets a full upgrade (that's currently in development). It was slated for 2020, but pandemic and all, so ETA on hold for now. We determine our time table, not Google.

While we really do appreciate the question/nudge, you've got the answer. This passive aggressive BS needs to stop now.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-29-2021, 07:46 PM
servese43 servese43 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 54
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Here is a screenshot of the network console, showing the troublesome JS request:

The only addon I've got is Ublock Origin, which might be doing something to cause this issue.

Edit: RobustReviews and mbassiouny should try blocking apis.google.com with their hosts file and see if that fixes the issue.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_2021-09-30_10-13-44.jpg (34.3 KB, 29 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-29-2021, 09:39 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,169
Thanked 1,990 Times in 1,716 Posts
<sigh> Google.
We'll look at it this weekend.

I still want to know which Firefox Linux version.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-29-2021, 09:52 PM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 255
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
My Chrome is choking occasionally as well. It comes up with an "Awww, snap" message.

When I reload the page with the circle refresh thingee to the left of the address bar, the page/site loads OK.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-29-2021, 10:01 PM
servese43 servese43 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 54
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
I'm using Firefox 92.0.1 64-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
09-30-2021, 02:13 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 255
Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts
Edge is also playing up for me now. A page will display OK for a few seconds, then error out. I have to reload the page a few times before it will stay open.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
09-30-2021, 04:59 AM
RobustReviews RobustReviews is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: London - UK
Posts: 193
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
I can't replicate it, but we drop ad/tracking stuff down a 'black hole' in hardware quite high up in the network so I get lots of 404s when inspecting as expected but nothing breaking. That's using Brave 1.29.81 and tested with Edge 94.0 without issue.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
09-30-2021, 02:55 PM
RobustReviews RobustReviews is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: London - UK
Posts: 193
Thanked 35 Times in 31 Posts
2050 BST - The site is no longer browsable on Brave (Chromium), Insecure/Back to Safety warning followed by the error reported above.

None of the usual tricks resolved it, still working on a recentish Edge build.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
09-30-2021, 03:29 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is online now
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,342
Thanked 626 Times in 450 Posts
Try it now.
The Classic Theme, not mobile. (One at a time.)

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: servese43 (09-30-2021)
  #13  
09-30-2021, 09:09 PM
servese43 servese43 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 54
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
It's fixed! Thank you very much for sorting it out so quickly!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVR dubbing status report, ISOBuster research jwillis84 Capture, Record, Transfer 0 04-09-2019 12:22 PM
Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle doesn't report dropped frames metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 7 02-11-2015 09:48 PM
ATI MMC doesn't report dropped frames hysteriah Capture, Record, Transfer 9 02-11-2015 09:03 AM
Another browser besides IE, Firefox and Chrome? admin Website and Server Troubleshooting 2 01-31-2012 11:13 AM
Chrome + Magento admin login/logout problem admin Website and Server Troubleshooting 0 04-02-2010 04:14 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM