Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Blank Media

LinkBack Thread Tools
02-26-2013, 07:03 PM
Free Member

This is in response to this thread ('Best VHS Tape - Media Comparison), and I'm new here, but I just wanted to add my support for the Maxell line of tapes and the BASF line as some of the finest tape stock's every made for VHS; I've even got some commercially-released tapes from around 1985 that were recorded on Scotch brand tapes that are still holding up very well and the quality is a lot better than many of the other commercially-released tapes that I have that were made in the 90's and early 2000's.

I'm a videographer that does weddings/event and industrial/commercial videos, as well as transferring people's home movies (don't touch the copyrighted stuff) over to DVD/digital file; any way in my business I only use Maxell Mini-DV and DVCPRO tapes for recording and storing (if BASF, or whatever their spun-off tape division is now called was available here in Canada and were in the tape field still, I'd probably say that it was a toss-up between both companies), because I used to tape some stuff in the 90's and early 2000's, before DVD-recorders were out, and I found that Maxell and BASF were the best for VHS, and later when I went to college, at first I used some JVC Mini-DV tapes, but I found they had a lot more drop-out than what I had seen in any Maxell/BASF tape, and even my college professors had told the class that Maxell was the top manufacturer of tapes (plus the college store only carried Maxell). My professors explanation was that with Sony, JVC and Fuji that they put all their money and energy into "making" the machines, but then the tapes were sort of a second thought: 'Okay,we've made the machine, let's sell it!...Oh, yeah, people need something to play and record in them, so let's just make up a tape.'

But in lordsmurf's last post in the other thread, he wrote:
Quote: