Quantcast What frame insertion rate is OK? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
01-25-2020, 07:42 AM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 170
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
What rate of frame insertion is acceptable?
I have a VHS-C I am running from Sharp SVHS (VC-S101) to an ES15, to Hauppage 850, and for 30+ plus minutes of playtime I often get as many as high teens to low twenties for frames inserted, no dropped frames, though. Is this an issue that can be ignored?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-25-2020, 08:28 AM
hodgey hodgey is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 672
Thanked 151 Times in 128 Posts
It means that Virtualdub inserts extra frames to compensate for a long delay between frames arriving from the capture device or similar. You can tell virtualdub to not do this, but if it happens it usually indicates an issue. The ES15 should deliver a stable frame rate out, so maybe some other process is using up system resources. Make sure there isn't some antivirus, search indexing, updates etc running in the background when capturing. Setting the process priority of virtualdub to high or realtime (the exact method depends on what windows version you are using) may also help.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-25-2020, 09:05 AM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 170
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
First gen i7 lappy, this is my second tier setup. Antivirus is off, preview off, probably better to add a second internal drive, I’m capturing to C desktop. I tried an external drive but it was inserting frames at a craaazy level. I’ll look at the other things you mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-26-2020, 04:06 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,976
Thanked 1,504 Times in 1,312 Posts
Same as the drop rate: none, or close to it.

I monitor captures. If I see 1 dropped frames between check-ins, I'm fine. If more (5-10), I'm not, check-in more. If I see more than 10, I stop the capture and review it. In most cases, HDD fragmentation is the issue.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-26-2020, 04:44 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,570
Thanked 1,140 Times in 926 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryTheCrab View Post
probably better to add a second internal drive,
Yes!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryTheCrab View Post
I’m capturing to C desktop.
Yikes! That's a major no-no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryTheCrab View Post
I tried an external drive
That's almost always another no-no.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-27-2020, 04:47 AM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 170
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
I moved the capture location to C drive CAPTURE, shut off the preview, shut some things like internet and anti-virus off, increased the video buffer in VDub, and there was improvement, but it's a lousy tape. Without a second ES-15 or a second TBC-1000 (thank you LS), most of my captures will need to be one at a time. I'd love to get another ES-15 but if I plug one more device into my electrical outlets my neighbors will have a brown-out.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
capture, es15, inserted frames

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jitter / Frame rate issue JamieStar99 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 04-06-2018 09:37 PM
Is frame rate rounded? (29.97) Ohayou Edit Video, Audio 13 02-16-2016 05:56 PM
Frame rate trouble in DVD Architect Reading Bug Encode, Convert for discs 15 12-31-2009 01:39 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM