Quantcast Lossless S-video capture into Windows 10? - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
06-24-2020, 01:54 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,309
Thanked 1,558 Times in 1,359 Posts
Quote:
Got VDub working, and see a preview for composite input, but S-video shows black screen.
My VDub shows the 510 under DEVICES but says "No video source" under VIDEO SOURCE.
See How to enable s-video input on Pinnacle 510-USB?

Quote:
I guess I'll be wrestling after all.
Austin 3:16

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
06-24-2020, 03:11 PM
prenerts prenerts is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Got it. Thanks. Now for the audio.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
06-24-2020, 03:41 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,309
Thanked 1,558 Times in 1,359 Posts
You need to read sanlyn's VirtualDub Settings guide in the forum -- but heed more notes that override some of his settings.

Audio > Enable audio playback
Note that this only works for this specific card, and must be disabled for almost all others.
If you have dropped frames with it, there's a few other settings that can be tweaked, but it's rarely needed.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
06-24-2020, 03:55 PM
prenerts prenerts is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I guess I'm lucky - just plugged in the RCAs and there's the sound! Captures it also. But I'll read sanlyn anyhow, to understand the issues, and maybe it won't be there again after reboot.

Prenerts

-- merged --

Oh sigh - just as I feared the audio vanished upon reboot. Somewhere I read a post/thread re this. Can anyone point me to it?

prenerts
Reply With Quote
  #25  
06-24-2020, 09:48 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,309
Thanked 1,558 Times in 1,359 Posts
Disable preview, re-enable. Try that.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
06-26-2020, 10:15 AM
prenerts prenerts is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 15
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Disable preview, re-enable. Try that.
That didn't work , but I've found that if I follow a certain startup sequence I will get the audio every time. Here's what I do, if it helps anybody:

1. The 510 is plugged into a USB 2.0 port and is connected to an S-video source that's turned on (doesn't have to be playing as long as signal is present). Same for audio. I'm disconnected from the internet.

2. Turn on PC; I wait until all Windows processes have finished loading or have timed out, icon refresh, etc. Start File Explorer - if it pops up immediately I'm ready to proceed. It can be a few minutes. I just wait 4 minutes.

3. Open Crossbar-thing - on my PC the S-video selection sticks but the audio sync checkbox doesn't so I have to check it each time. No biggie. Close

4. Open VDub, go to Capture Mode, select video/preview if it's not up. Same for audio. Play input source -Voila sound!

The whole thing reminds me of the nightmare hardware config. that you had to do way back in Win 3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
lossless capture, windows 10

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP Mode to capture video? DEAGS1978 Computers 1 09-26-2019 03:37 AM
VirtualDub lossless capture jerky/jumpy with video overlay on? nicholasserra Capture, Record, Transfer 3 10-06-2017 01:30 AM
Hauppauge video capture is lossless? dinkleberg Capture, Record, Transfer 5 08-26-2016 12:19 AM
Convert Apple ProRes to lossless Windows Codec? Winsordawson Edit Video, Audio 13 09-08-2015 09:45 AM
Windows XP video 'capture' PC vs. Windows 7 video 'Edit' PC? rocko Project Planning, Workflows 5 02-08-2015 03:34 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM