Quantcast S-VHS PAL interlaced acquisition with Huffyuv - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
01-29-2012, 07:13 AM
Genu29 Genu29 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am looking for help/suggestion on how to setup my system for S-VHS PAL acquisition; my system is made of PANASONIC VCR NVFS90 and ASUS ATI 9600XT.

MATERIAL
S-VHS PAL interlaced

PC
I would like to use VirtualDub with Huffyuv v2.1.1 CCE patch, but without any Filter (cropping/denoising); my idea is to have a master file and then, after acquisition, work on it for filtering and codec conversion. Is it a good strategy ? Afaik, cropping is not suggested for interlaced material, is it true ?

VCR:
Noise Filter/Off/Edit selector: what position should I choose ?
Picture sharpness control: this is a cursor with three milestones (sharp/middle/soft) that seems enabled only if the Noise Filter/Off/Edit selector is put Off; what position should I choose


Really many thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-01-2012, 04:23 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,906
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Genu29 View Post
I am looking for help/suggestion on how to setup my system for S-VHS PAL acquisition; my system is made of PANASONIC VCR NVFS90 and ASUS ATI 9600XT.
Good VCR, good capture card.

Quote:
I would like to use VirtualDub with Huffyuv v2.1.1 CCE patch, but without any Filter (cropping/denoising); my idea is to have a master file and then, after acquisition, work on it for filtering and codec conversion. Is it a good strategy ?
It's not just good, it's perfect.

Quote:
Afaik, cropping is not suggested for interlaced material, is it true ?
Again, correct.

Quote:
Noise Filter/Off/Edit selector: what position should I choose ?
Generally it's best to leave this on EDIT, for the Panasonic. But use whatever looks best.

Quote:
Picture sharpness control: this is a cursor with three milestones (sharp/middle/soft) that seems enabled only if the Noise Filter/Off/Edit selector is put Off; what position should I choose
Panasonic is already artificially sharpening the image, even when the slider is at "0" values. For that reason, you can pull it down a a tick mark or two (to get the native "soft" quality of VHS, which lacks the halo/ringing you get from artificial sharpening). Or leave it at the 0 baseline default value. I would not push it sharper except in extreme circumstances with blurry tapes.

I think I answered that one.

Quote:
Really many thanks for your help
No problem. If you need more help, just reply.

And welcome to the site.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-01-2012, 04:37 AM
Genu29 Genu29 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi, thanks a lot for your reply. I am just doing some trial and with some tape I got a very high audio level; I tuned line-in with Window Mixer but with just one step more above no audio getting in, I have very high. Do you have any suggestion for this problem ? Besides some of them have very different level between L&R channels (I recall the camcorder had a problem for a period of time). May you help also for this ?
I would appreciate a lot. Many thanks
GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-01-2012, 04:39 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,906
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Be sure you're not using the microphone input, instead of the line-in input. Or if you have one of the more fancy recent cards, with selectable/variable inputs, be sure the "microphone gain" isn't on. That feature may have several names, so be on the prowl for any suspicious, as opposed to that exact name.

That's usually the culprit.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huffyuv is not showing in my virtualdubmpeg2 unclescoob Encode, Convert for discs 8 07-17-2011 07:25 PM
Huffyuv and Premiere CS4 is not working admin Edit Video, Audio 1 03-02-2010 12:00 AM
Interlaced vs. non-interlaced artifacts? via Email or PM Capture, Record, Transfer 1 04-16-2009 05:37 PM
What version of HUFFYUV 777sp2 Encode, Convert for discs 5 10-06-2005 05:35 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM