Quantcast JVC DR-M10 Utility (audio) Setting Help - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-16-2012, 03:15 PM
cc4npg cc4npg is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When transferring vhs to dvd, there are some settings I don't understand and I have yet to find a post about this. They are on the JVC DR-M10 under the utility menu and, pardon me because I am not looking at the unit, they have something to do with the audio out (like analog/digital audio out and output level). There are different settings in there and I'm not sure if I should tweak them. Can someone tell me what settings I should have this on?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-16-2012, 07:12 PM
robjv1 robjv1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 187
Thanked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc4npg View Post
When transferring vhs to dvd, there are some settings I don't understand and I have yet to find a post about this. They are on the JVC DR-M10 under the utility menu and, pardon me because I am not looking at the unit, they have something to do with the audio out (like analog/digital audio out and output level). There are different settings in there and I'm not sure if I should tweak them. Can someone tell me what settings I should have this on?
What are the options exactly? I have the JVC DR-M100, so I'm not sure if the menus are quite the same or not, but I think they are similar.

I believe all of the options in that menu apply only to the DVD recorders audio processing on playback (D. Range Control, Analog Output Stereo/Dolby Surround, Output Level). The most appropriate choices will depend on your receiver/TV and how you have it hooked up. It has no effect on recordings.

However there may be an audio setting in one of the menus (I can't remember which one it is) which has consequences for recording. For the setting 'XP Mode Rec Audio', you most likely want to have that set to Dolby Digital and not PCM. This will allow more bitrate to be available for video processing -- unless you're planning to heavily filter the audio in software or something, there is no need to use PCM audio with VHS to DVD conversions.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test Utility - Analyze Whether Your Workflow Creates Dropped Frames jmac698 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 11-21-2011 08:06 AM
Setting up your own web hosting service? naimeiiz Web Hosting 0 08-10-2011 04:05 AM
Setting up a VHS > Digital conversion rig guokamoli Project Planning, Workflows 14 06-16-2011 09:34 AM
Audio out setting on JVC svhs help cyber-junkie Capture, Record, Transfer 1 01-27-2010 08:23 PM
Bought a new TV, need some help setting it up Tranzor Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 5 12-18-2007 01:31 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM