Quantcast VCR won't stay on, LED blinking? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
12-30-2015, 08:35 PM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I have a vcr from 2000 called LG AC901NP. I was planning to use this unit to capture old tapes, but it won't stay on after I hit power. The red power led starts blinking along with the timer and then it turns off.
If I hit power again nothing happens. I need to unplug and replug the power for it to once again turn on, blink and die.

The manual is long gone and LG, like any other company, doesn't publish old manuals.

Is there perhaps a way to troubleshoot this? Could the number of blinks be a clue a bit like BIOS error codes or is that wishful thinking?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-01-2016, 02:24 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Honestly, it did you a favor. LG VCRs are not good at all, and would only have given you low-quality captures.
Be sure to read this: VCR Buying Guide (S-VHS, D-VHS, Professional) for restoring video

While the number of blinks may have meaning, I doubt it would do you much good at this late post-VHS date.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-01-2016, 03:39 PM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Oh that's disappointing.
I've been looking for vcr's from that list but there are not many around. I'd prefer to buy it within my country(Norway) due to shipping costs but so far I've only found one vcr and it's faulty(spits out tapes).

I might find some on Ebay but the UK ones have different plugs, 110v I'm guessing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-02-2016, 02:36 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
USA is 110, UK is 220.
As far as a I know, most EU countries have the same power rating, and just need plug shape adapters.

The JVC S-VHS (example: my HR-S7965EK) line actually has worldwide power, and even in the USA only needs a plug shape adapter.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-02-2016, 02:52 PM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Aha, that makes it a bit easier. Still, worried about getting a dud. And shipping is super pricey, and then comes import taxes and handling fees. Tough decision.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-02-2016, 03:00 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
I import (and sometimes export) stuff from all over the world on a regular basis. Shipping is expensive (though not as expensive as you might think), but it's always worth it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-02-2016, 03:13 PM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Maybe. It's just that they add shipping costs as part of total price when they calculate the 25% import tax here. And their fee is $20 on top of that.

Also, is a tbc required for camera videos?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-03-2016, 03:23 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
A TBC is required for analog video, regardless of the source (home camera, retail tape, etc).

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Amaze (01-03-2016)
  #9  
01-03-2016, 09:31 AM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I found a JVC HR-S7700 and a Panasonic NV-SV 121 on Ebay. Seller wants the same amount for both of them.
Is it a given to pick the JVC? I have to ask since it's not on the recommended list.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
01-03-2016, 09:34 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
The 7700 is probably a 7600 successor. If you look further down that buyer guide, perhaps even on 2nd/3rd pages, a fuller JVC listing is shown. I've not yet had time to overhaul that list as needed. I was in the middle of doing so, earlier this year, when I had some health issues, and I just never returned to it. Yet. I'll try again this spring, when I get some free time.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Amaze (01-03-2016)
  #11  
01-03-2016, 01:55 PM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Ah ok. I also found a HR-S6600 for half the price but it has no tbc as the list-topic says. How important is that tbc when you have an external one as well? Does that vcr have other features that perhaps can mitigate the lack of internal tbc?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
01-03-2016, 01:58 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
An internal line TBC does a different task than an extenral frame sync TBC.
A TBC-less VCR should only be used for tapes that have no chroma noise, no grain, etc. Essentially studio-made tapes.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Amaze (01-03-2016)
  #13  
01-09-2016, 11:27 AM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Right. So I decided to contact a professional due to the significant cost of the equipment needed.
I asked if he could transfer to huffyuv with yuy2 colorspace, which I read somewhere on this forum was optimal if final source was to be a bluray disc.
He replied he only transfers to the dv format. His setup includes a JVC HM-DR10000 -> Datavideo TBC-1000 -> Sony DSR-20P. Then he transfer to pc via firewire. The dv files are then sent to me on a harddrive.

He has fairly reasonable prices. Should I go for it or look elsewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
01-09-2016, 11:54 AM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Quote:
He has fairly reasonable prices. Should I go for it or look elsewhere?
No ... no ... that does not a professional that is a beginner.

I put the HM-DR10`000 .... and TBC1000
then you go from there to SDI.

Directly in DV-AVI whether Microsoftt DV-AVI or Canopus DV-AVI was formerly used at times Pentium 3 and that's 20 years ago.

Analoges never capture to DV-AVI
always in Lagarith or Huffuv
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Goldwingfahrer for this useful post: Amaze (01-09-2016)
  #15  
01-09-2016, 12:01 PM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I suspected as much. The search continues...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
01-09-2016, 12:19 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Sorry I did not mean to be unkind
DV-AVI is okay if mini DV or DV-AVI big bands present.
Here's a little picture ... currently on a Capture Station.
The TBC1000 I just put down that I need rare.

Although I can not speak English but sometimes cry when I see how people digitize analog films.


Attached Files
File Type: zip IMGP2349.zip (105.6 KB, 4 downloads)

Last edited by Goldwingfahrer; 01-09-2016 at 12:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
01-09-2016, 07:56 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,271 Times in 975 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaze View Post
Right. So I decided to contact a professional due to the significant cost of the equipment needed.
I asked if he could transfer to huffyuv with yuy2 colorspace, which I read somewhere on this forum was optimal if final source was to be a bluray disc.
He replied he only transfers to the dv format. His setup includes a JVC HM-DR10000 -> Datavideo TBC-1000 -> Sony DSR-20P. Then he transfer to pc via firewire. The dv files are then sent to me on a harddrive.

He has fairly reasonable prices. Should I go for it or look elsewhere?
Look elsewhere. There are professionals, and then there are paid amateurs. You're dealing with a paid amateur, and a lazy one with apparently little or no knowledge of the proper way professionals process analog source. Digitalfaq has a professional services division that can do the job properly, with very competitive rates. And I'd like to add that I don't work here.

Years ago I captured a couple of analog tapes with DV equipment. I will never do it again. What a nightmare to clean up VHS to DV.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
01-09-2016, 09:23 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
Digitalfaq has a professional services division that can do the job properly, with very competitive rates.
Yep.

Contact us: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/sendmessage.php

A lot of "professionals" (not really a professional) are just doing this on the side, and have no actual real-world experience beyond their own home movies using techniques they found online (likely from this site and VH). So you're giving your precious tapes to somebody that may only know as much as you do, or possibly even less. Beware.

Yes, Huffyuv 4:2:2 to MPEG-2 4:2:0 for Bluray is optimal. Though depending on the source, end format goals, and capture hardware, sometimes direct to MPEG 15mpbs may be fine. (And this is why you seek a professional. They can help.)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #19  
01-11-2016, 09:13 AM
Amaze Amaze is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 21
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I might just do that. Will have to check with the family how much they're willing to spend.
Do you have people in Europe?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
01-15-2016, 03:04 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,913
Thanked 2,170 Times in 1,870 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amaze View Post
I might just do that. Will have to check with the family how much they're willing to spend. Do you have people in Europe?
Not in Europe, no. However, most PAL formats are fine.

For an in-Europe person, Goldwingfahrer may be able to help you out. (Switzerland)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot get JVC HR-S8000U to stay powered on? MacCougar Video Hardware Repair 6 01-04-2016 07:51 AM
LiteOn VHS/DVD combo recorder will not stay powered on? Mrion Video Hardware Repair 1 11-30-2014 06:07 PM
Is free anti-virus and malware cleaners all you need to stay safe? cyber-junkie Computers 4 07-13-2012 11:42 PM
Today is fingers-in-ears / stay-at-home day! (April 1) lordsmurf General Discussion 0 04-01-2012 07:55 AM
Modem lights are suddenly rapidly flashing/blinking; Is my computer being hacked? Sossity Computers 1 11-03-2011 07:26 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM