Quantcast Total Code Studio won't recognize source AVI file? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for discs

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-23-2020, 01:13 PM
justin81 justin81 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Hello,

So, I've been playing around with Total Code Studio (Base version). I'm trying to convert AVI to MPEG 2 for DVD. However, when I attempt to drag the AVI file to the "output" section, I get an error that says "not allowed....wrong stream type."

This applies to the video only. I can specify this file as the audio source with no problem.

Incidentally, I created this AVI myself using Virtual Dub and Huffyuv, so I know I have the codecc installed. Audio is LPCM.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-23-2020, 01:21 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,969
Thanked 1,503 Times in 1,312 Posts
You did it wrong.

mc-dragdrop.jpg

Drag file to INPUT. Then drag input to OUTPUT, where you can set it (started with presets, customize/adjust settings as needed).



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: justin81 (01-23-2020)
  #3  
01-23-2020, 01:39 PM
justin81 justin81 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks for the reply, lordsmurf.

Unfortunately, I tried what you recommended, and the issue is still here. This is what the log file says...

Error: Video stream required for MPEG DVD/SVCD

Incidentally, a little further up in the log file, I see these entries...

Error: Can not open file C:/Users/Justin/.TotalCodeStudio/modulesettings.mms
Warning: Preset file C:/Program Files/MainConcept/TotalCode Studio/ExtendedPresets/Apple29.97p.mps modified.
Warning: Preset file C:/Program Files/MainConcept/TotalCode Studio/ExtendedPresets/PlayStation4.mps modified.

Could it be a bad install?

EDITED TO ADD: It wasn't clear in my original message. I used the input to specify the AVI file first. Then tried to drag to "output."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-23-2020, 01:48 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,969
Thanked 1,503 Times in 1,312 Posts
Fast Recompress to Lagarith in VirtualDub, and try that file. See what happens.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: justin81 (01-23-2020)
  #5  
01-23-2020, 02:21 PM
justin81 justin81 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Fast Recompress to Lagarith in VirtualDub, and try that file. See what happens.
Yes! I just tried this with Lagarith and got it working. It is encoding now. I'm guessing that it doesn't like Huffyuv, for some reason.

Thank you, lordsmurf!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
01-23-2020, 02:32 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,969
Thanked 1,503 Times in 1,312 Posts
Huffyuv is 32-bit.
MainConcept is 64-bit.
Lagarith is 32+64 bit.

What you need to do is install ffdshow, and then enable the 64-bit FF Huffyuv (but not 32).

You can always try to capture Lagarith, but you must monitor it for frame drops, audio sync, and other weirdness.

I rarely just encode captures. My post-capture software workflow is (at minimum) VirtualDub for clipping unwanted footage, and then it can be fast recompressed to Lagarith if MC is next step.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Amanjm (01-28-2020), justin81 (01-24-2020)
  #7  
01-24-2020, 09:51 AM
justin81 justin81 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thank you for the explanation, lordsmurf.

I just downloaded and installed ffdshow and enabled Huffyuv 64 bit. Main Concept is accepting my AVI files now, no problem.

On to the next adventure...
Reply With Quote
The following users thank justin81 for this useful post: lordsmurf (01-24-2020)
  #8  
01-24-2020, 05:36 PM
justin81 justin81 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Unfortunately, I'm thinking that the installation of ffdshow "broke" something.

Virtualdub is now acting strange. For example, it will freeze during capture and I have to close it in task manager. The files resulting from the capture have really bad audio synch too.

I'm guessing it was ffdshow because that is the only variable that has changed. Yesterday's captures (prior to installation) had perfect audio synch.

Any ideas as to what's up?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI TV Wonder HD 600 USB will not recognize input? justin81 Capture, Record, Transfer 5 01-07-2020 07:06 PM
Need your input: We want to recognize some members! lordsmurf General Discussion 11 09-26-2015 10:57 AM
Source file in sync - Output File completely out of sync? DeeSeven Encode, Convert for streaming 3 07-25-2013 10:58 PM
Total Recorder VideoPro - Evaluation wanted w3tno Computers 2 02-17-2011 04:15 PM
NEC DVD writer won't recognize one DVD-R? Joeykid_99 Blank Media 3 12-23-2004 06:35 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM