Quantcast Avisynth F1Quiver() not working? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-10-2020, 05:51 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,786
Thanked 1,667 Times in 1,448 Posts
I've been on several sites this week, seeking Avisynth help from specific people, for various projects. Somebody here (themaster1) suggested that F1Quiver (http://avisynth.nl/index.php/FFTQuiver) could solve my current herringbone problem. He's mentioned it to other members here a number of times, most recently on a thread (90s camcorder: Removing red-blue chroma lines?) back in 2018.

Specifically, this was suggested to me:
Code:
F1Quiver(last,"custom", 25, 100, 50, 35, 70,0, 80,90, 120,30,test =true,row = 155, erow=300,degree = 8,gamma =0.2 )
Note: I wonder about the origin of it. Odd spacing.

Alas, it's not working.

Did anybody here ever try themaster1's script suggestions, and have it work for them?

My script comes back with
Code:
Script error: Invalid arguments to function 'F1Quiver'.
That happens even with no arguments:
Code:
AVISource("x.avi")
F1Quiver()
ie default settings, nothing else.

I have both Avisynth 2.6 MT x86, and Avisynth+ x64 installed, and the DLLs are present in the accompanying plugin folders. This plugin is available for both, but neither work.

Any idea what is wrong?

FYI, this filter is a nightmare to use. Lack of useful documentation, no meaningful samples. I don't think anybody other than the author understands it, and I've never read where anybody has used it successfully. I've never seen a before/after clip, and cannot reproduce any useful results.

For example, if you the script has the "degree" syntax, the error states that F1Quiver does not have an argument named "degree". If you remove degree, the error then starts that you must have the value "degree". It's a pretty f'd up script.

The author's "examples" function, but it's not useful. No idea what's going on with those, zero documentation, zero samples to illustrate with those do.

BTW, the original conversation was started at VH, hoping to get the attention of jagabo and johnmeyer (which it did), but neither of their solutions work.
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...ngbone-removal

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-10-2020, 08:41 AM
hodgey hodgey is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 866
Thanked 192 Times in 164 Posts
Which version of it are you using? There are two different versions of it that have different ways of specifying the arguments, I've never gotten the newer one to work.
Older one linked here (2.5 version) is the one I have used.
EDIT: Yeah, the test parameter is not on the newer one, that one has a separate function for it.

Will have to test FQPlus for myself, seems it's been updated recently so maybe it works.

Last edited by hodgey; 09-10-2020 at 08:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-10-2020, 09:30 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,786
Thanked 1,667 Times in 1,448 Posts
If you have any success, let me know.

The reason for trying to use it was to reduce/remove herringbone noise. But I really have no faith in it working. The same author's previous FanFilter never worked for me, and now this doesn't either. I've never read where anybody has had any success with it to date.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-10-2020, 09:50 AM
hodgey hodgey is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 866
Thanked 192 Times in 164 Posts
I've only really had success in using it for removing high-frequency noise like residual Y/C artifacts from composite capture of VHS tapes (via e.g my ES10) that weren't filtered out by the Y/C filter and similar herringbone noise caused by bad capacitors. That stuff is outside the bandwidth of the VHS tape though (usually low-pass filtered by VCRs at around 3 MHz for PAL, don't remember what it is for NTSC.) so it's straight forward to just apply a low-pass filter that removes everything above a certain point. I don't know if it would work as well for the video in the thread as there is a lot of actual video data in the same frequency band, even more so if the frequency of the interference is not uniform over the video.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VirtualDub and ATI AIW x600 Pro not working? rom828q Capture, Record, Transfer 9 05-08-2020 02:09 PM
Advantages of Avisynth vs. Avisynth+ (plus)? homefire Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 07-02-2019 06:54 PM
Working with DV source in Avisynth? Angies_Husband Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 12 06-12-2019 07:24 PM
ATI AIW USB 600 capture card not working? Mazufa Capture, Record, Transfer 12 01-27-2019 11:14 PM
Wanted: JVC DR-M100S - working or not volksjager Marketplace 1 10-04-2012 03:16 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM