Quantcast Adapting Video8/Hi8 workflow to capture VHS? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
05-09-2021, 07:10 AM
EmielBoss's Avatar
EmielBoss EmielBoss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 83
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I currently have the following workflow for capturing Video8/Hi8 tapes:

TBC camcorder --S-Video--> Panasonic ES15 --S-Video--> green AVT-8710 --S-Video--> Pinnacle 710-USB --USB--> Windows XP/VirtualDub 1.9.11

Now I would like to capture VHS as well. What should I change? Which VCRs or other devices should I look out for?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-09-2021, 05:14 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,818
Thanked 300 Times in 279 Posts
Just replace the camcorder with a VCR, that's it.

That workflow is very lossy, I don't see why you have to use the ES15 since you have the line TBC and the frame TBC?
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: EmielBoss (05-21-2021)
  #3  
05-10-2021, 02:59 PM
bookemdano bookemdano is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 151
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
IIRC he needed to add the ES15 because he was getting weird artifacts when using the camcorder's line TBC + AVT-8710. He found that disabling the camcorder's line TBC resolved it, so he picked up an ES15 for line TBC duty.

But latreche34 makes a good point. Since you're changing your source to an S-VHS deck (assuming you get one with a built-in line TBC) you should first try eliminating the ES15 and go directly from the VCR to the AVT-8710. Only add the ES15 back in if the same issue appears, or if you aren't using a VCR with a built-in line TBC.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank bookemdano for this useful post: EmielBoss (05-15-2021)
  #4  
05-10-2021, 04:31 PM
BarryTheCrab's Avatar
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is online now
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 260
Thanked 55 Times in 46 Posts
If top-tearing happens the ES-10(15) must remain in the workflow for that particular tape.
So sayeth the elders.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank BarryTheCrab for this useful post: EmielBoss (05-21-2021)
  #5  
05-11-2021, 05:54 PM
cbehr91 cbehr91 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 100
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
I have captured lots of Hi8 tapes. All SP camcorder masters. Some have tearing/flagging, but not all. I only use the ES10 when necessary (while viewing a few minutes of footage to set light/dark levels I watch for tearing). Otherwise, I skip it and just use the camcorder line TBC. Use the exact same method for VHS.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank cbehr91 for this useful post: EmielBoss (05-21-2021)
Reply




Tags
capturing, vcr, vhs, workflow

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any differences in Video8 workflow compared to Hi8? EmielBoss Capture, Record, Transfer 6 03-30-2021 11:02 AM
Video8 and Hi8 capture workflow? davidprosser Project Planning, Workflows 3 12-31-2020 10:38 AM
PAL Hi8 / Video8 camcorders for capture? Asbesto Capture, Record, Transfer 1 11-24-2018 08:04 AM
Video8 capture improvement AJAX1 Capture, Record, Transfer 0 10-06-2015 08:52 PM
Adapting plugs: 2-prong to 3-prong adapters & power for computers Sossity Computers 7 12-11-2010 01:58 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM