Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-14-2011, 04:56 PM
Premium Member

I have a mac with paralells 5.0 on it of which I would like to run windows on; I have some windows only programs.

the mac is an i7 2010 macbook pro with 4 gb of ram, & snowleopard.

which version of xp pro would be best? 32 bit or 64 bit?

& where online would be the safest & best deal to get it? I have read about all the fakware software out there, & I dont want to get ripped off.

Also, would OEM work? I think it does not come with microsoft support, I would rather have support. So I would probably prefer a full functional version to run as a virtual machine on my mac.

I am also a student, are there safe places to get student discounts?
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-14-2011, 05:18 PM
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo

Quote:
I have a mac with paralells 5.0 on it of which I would like to run windows on; I have some windows only programs.
What programs? Quite a few things work well natively in OS X using Wine -- no Windows required. I've been doing this. (I have many other Windows machines to fall back on, should I need them. But Wine works well.)

Quote:
which version of xp pro would be best? 32 bit or 64 bit?
Few things work well on XP 64, so get the 32-bit normal version. Honestly, XP 64 was like a really bad beta version of Windows Vista.

Quote:
& where online would be the safest & best deal to get it? I have read about all the fakware software out there, & I dont want to get ripped off.
You're still a student, correct? Many colleges have heavily discounted MS programs. See what versions of Windows they have available. I think most online academic-version stores long ago quick carrying XP, as it's already been end-of-life'd by Microsoft. (That mostly means they can't see it, not that there's anything wrong with XP -- there isn't.)

Quote:
Also, would OEM work? I think it does not come with microsoft support, I would rather have support.
It should work.