Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-07-2012, 02:04 AM
Premium Member

Backup solutions?

I have been reading about hard drives , & wanted to know if it is ok to use one for offsite backup of data, have it unplugged or a bare hard drive stored in a case offsite away from my home.

I have read that there does not seem to be any real reliable offsite storage methods for longterm archives of data.

I have used discs, but it is very tedious to go through all the content of my hard drives, & burn to discs, it would take me awhile, & take time away from my art & other endeavors. I am spending alot of my time with digital content, but it is important to me, as I am trying to adapt to a very small space in my home, & cutting back on paper documents is helping me in that regard, but I am accumulating digital data; ie photos, word documents, scans, videos & other content. I am an artist, with the problem of lack of space, so i thought going all digital or at least partially digital will help me.

I am finding keeping my digital content safe & backed up a bit time consuming & difficult, as I do not have an office or any place outside of my home of my own to store copies offsite, I have to do it through my mother who works outside our home in an office.

i just bought another 2tb wetern digital WD20EADS green hard drive for backup. I read that using hard drives unplugged for longterm backup does not work. I read that discs do not last long, & online storage is not reliable either. the article stated that magnetic tapes were superior to hard drives, & were the best longterm offsite storage method.

so I am not sure what to do, being able to just offload all my digital content to online storage does sound appealing in that, I do not have to be concerned with all these physical mediums.

DAM