#1  
12-30-2006, 07:12 AM
wheezer210 wheezer210 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 101
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have been using TDA 1.6 for sometime now but I recently re-formated my HD and I am having problems with the AC3 plugin...TDA 1.6 does not see it. So I have decided to look at other authoring software partly because I want to see what other programs have to offer.

DVD Lab Pro has a loyal following on the DVDR help forums and I was wondering if anyone here has used it and what your opinions are.

I have tinkered with it before a long time ago but I was curious if anyone has and first hand experience with it and if you have any tips/tricks that might help a newb with this program....thanks.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
12-30-2006, 09:58 AM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
i use this all the time
only use the simpler features and have no probs with it

1) load or drag & drop your movie/audio files into dvd lab pro
2) load each movie into the movie resource area
3) click the wizard icon to create chapters
4) create your menu background
5) create a link item, text or button
6) set your project & temporary directories
7) hit the compile button and done!

this is just the basics.
you can try this out then expand your knowledge later.

rs01.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


rs02.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


hope this helps mate.


Reply With Quote
  #3  
12-30-2006, 10:41 AM
wheezer210 wheezer210 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 101
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks, it is appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-30-2006, 02:11 PM
wheezer210 wheezer210 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 101
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
One more thing, what is the audio format of the DVD when created with this program?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
12-30-2006, 07:01 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
well i can only say that the audio output is ... well how i recorded it in the first place.

i usually record in dolby stereo at 256Kbps (sometimes 384) on my jvc dvd recorder.

then i use tmpgenc to edit out the commercials. this process also separates the video and audio. audio is now in ac3 format which is ideal to import into dvd lab pro.

then when dvd lab pro author's the movie, the sound is still in dolby stereo 256Kbps.

there may be options to convert audio to lpcm, but not sure why you would want to do this.

does this help? hope so.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
12-30-2006, 07:03 PM
manthing manthing is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 329
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
and just to clarify, i'm using dvd lab pro 2.
whether there are any significant benefits over version 1, i don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
01-01-2007, 02:02 PM
weevil6772 weevil6772 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 25
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Used it for years and made all my sets with it.I have no complaints really, I found it easy to use and the newer editions were very stable for me.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
01-03-2007, 03:11 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,660
Thanked 2,323 Times in 1,981 Posts
I'm a big fan of Ulead DVD Workshop 2. It's as easy as TDA, but as powerful as Apple DVD Studio Pro... and it's pretty much bug-free for normal work (recorded tv shows put onto DVD, from our own captures or DVD recorders).


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
01-03-2007, 01:48 PM
wheezer210 wheezer210 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 101
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I prefer to use WS2 also, but I was having a BSD show up during install...so I decided to give DVD Lab a try again...since the original post, I have reformatted and re-installed WS2 without a hitch.

I really like the motion background effects, it will come in handy for personal discs I make for people...anyone know where to get free motion backgrounds or stock video footage to use for backgrounds?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VCR Buying Guide (S-VHS, D-VHS, Professional) for restoring video lordsmurf Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 360 05-18-2023 07:56 PM
How to Clean a DVD or CD Drive [GUIDE] admin Blank Media 7 05-28-2020 05:29 AM
How about a new guide on cover creating? joker Project Planning, Workflows 1 01-28-2006 04:24 AM
Ati 9.3 Guide jrnyhead Capture, Record, Transfer 4 05-13-2005 01:49 PM
ATI MMC 7.7 hack install guide admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 02-15-2005 05:22 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM