12-25-2009, 01:47 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcoxy
I have an RCA DRC8030N DVD recorder/player. I saw your reponses to other owners of these machines on another website. You appear to be quite knowledgeable on these machines.

I apparently had a corrupt recording on the hard drive that I couldn't get into. It didn't affect any other recordings. I did the formatting of the drive that you had suggested on the other website and the corrupt recording went away. All was well for a while but now I'm having some other problems. On essentially all of my recordings on the hard drive the picture is getting stuck several times. It'll stick for a second or two. Sometimes it will start back up where it left off; other times it'll skip those few seconds. Should I format again? Or is this a sign that it's going bad for good?

I am not very tech savvy, so any real complicated suggestions will fly right over me.

It doesn't appear that anyone makes this type of unit anymore. I really don't want to have to copy to disks. It was really nice being able to store recordings on the hard drive.

Thanks for any help or advice you can give.
I know I've explained this somewhere before. I thought it was here, but didn't see it in a site search. Hmmm... anyway...

A DVD recorder is really nothing more than a specialized computer mainboard, the video tuner/capture components, a DVD burner, and in some cases (like this RCA DVD recorder) a hard drive.

Like any other other hard drive, fragmentation eventually sets in. Data is not written sequentially on a hard drive. If you had three programs recorded, about an hour long, data might look like this:
  • 1111-2222-3333
Now if you delete the second recording, and record a two hour show, you'll end up with something like this;
  • 1111-4444-3333-4444