10-23-2019, 09:12 AM
Free Member

I'm new to video capturing, but I have done a lot of research. I am attempting to tackle saving 30 or so 1990's era video 8 videotapes to my hard drive.

I have a computer with a firewire and a connection on my camcorder. I can see and capture the video in an AVI format. The captures are very large a 3-minute video is 700 MB. The captures are low-quality jagged edges, slightly blurry and random oil in water rainbow things popping up. I'm using VirtualDub to capture. I've tried a few others, they all produce similar results.

Questions

1. On the initial capture, large files, I can see all of the horizontal lines in the video. This makes the edges of people and things look a little jagged. Especially when they are moving. When I compress the files MP4 or compressed AVI, the jaggedness and lines go away.

Why does this happen?

Can I capture in the compressed format in VirtualDub? or will it always be a 2 step process? (capture then compress)

2. I can't plug and unplug the firewire into my computer and have the computer recognize it. I have to restart the computer with the firewire plugged in for the computer to recognize it. Once I turn the camera off the computer will never see the camera again until I restart the computer. Has anyone heard of this? is there a fix to this?

3. It would be easier to capture the entire video and then edit it later. Is there a free program that will allow me to easily take clips from the main video and make them their own clip?

4. True or False? Video 8 is technology from the 1990s. It was before HD tvs. It was meant to play on an SD tube tv. In fact, it would probably look ok on a tube TV. At this point, we have all forgot how shitty SD tube TVs were. There is nothing that can be done to make the output of a video 8 capture look HD.