#1  
04-24-2021, 04:46 PM
marukuru marukuru is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Does anyone know, if the DR-MV5S (NTSC version) has a switched power supply and will work without a converter in Europe? I know there's also a European/PAL version…

Thanks in advance.

PS: Back of machine says 120V/60Hz only, but the cake might be a lie…

Last edited by marukuru; 04-24-2021 at 05:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-24-2021, 10:29 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,337
Thanked 402 Times in 371 Posts
It's hard to tel even in the service manual they list all versions and you can't tel which version of hardware you have, You can do an expensive experiment like one of the members here did by just plugging in the machine and prey to Jesus. A tel tale of a switched transformer is the small size of it but it is not always the case that a switched power supply can work with all voltages.

Post pictures of the back of the machine and inside of the power section.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: marukuru (07-01-2021)
  #3  
04-25-2021, 12:51 PM
marukuru marukuru is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks for your swift response, latreche34.

The unit I ordered is still in transit, so all I can provide for now is a picture of its back (see attachment).

I'm sorry for the lack of information, was hoping someone has a machine and had details on the power supply.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg s-l1600.jpg (112.1 KB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-05-2021, 03:39 PM
marukuru marukuru is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
The unit finally arrived, here are some pics of the power supply.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg drmv5s-1.jpg (148.8 KB, 5 downloads)
File Type: jpg drmv5s-2.jpg (143.9 KB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-05-2021, 04:07 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,337
Thanked 402 Times in 371 Posts
Oh wow, it took almost two months to arrive. The fuse is marked for 250V which is a good sign. Now, what does the big capacitors say? Can you read the voltages? Capacitor will fail in a short amount of time if they are rated for smaller voltage.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: marukuru (07-01-2021)
  #6  
06-06-2021, 02:50 AM
marukuru marukuru is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks for your answer. Yep, took quite some time to arrive. Guess it got shipped by sea and not by air (maybe cause of size/weight).
The big capacitor reads 200V/300μF, the smaller ones 10V/150 μF & 16V/680μF.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-06-2021, 11:42 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,337
Thanked 402 Times in 371 Posts
10V and 16V are rectifying capacitors for DC current, don't worry about those. If you want to take the risk make sure you disconnect the main PCB and other loads so at most you loose the power board only.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: marukuru (07-01-2021)
  #8  
06-06-2021, 04:54 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,423
Thanked 389 Times in 329 Posts
The large primary side filter capacitor is normally 400V on switching power supplies in 230V areas. I don't know about that model specifically, but you can see that the power supply on the related DR-MV1S differs between japanese and european model on this schematic. If you look at the schematic e.g the schematics for the multisystem Samsung SV-7000W a 400V cap is used on that too, so I don't know if using this MV5S on 230V is safe.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank hodgey for this useful post: marukuru (07-01-2021)
  #9  
06-21-2021, 07:47 AM
marukuru marukuru is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks for the input, hodgey & latreche34. I play it safe and use a step down/up converter then.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capturing NTSC videos in Europe? Laurence02 Project Planning, Workflows 26 04-12-2022 07:27 AM
NTSC vs. NTSC-J IRE black levels? (capturing Japanese VHS tapes) Wingzrow Capture, Record, Transfer 7 08-30-2020 09:49 AM
JVC DR-MV5s: Direct to DVD dubbing vs Capture Card Soup Snakes Capture, Record, Transfer 11 10-10-2019 07:38 AM
Wanted: PAL TBC (Europe) misieeq Marketplace 1 06-13-2018 07:29 AM
JVC HR-S7955EK power adapter for 110V Mejnour Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-20-2012 11:20 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM