#1  
06-11-2021, 07:38 AM
chrisbati chrisbati is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 44
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi,

I just received an ATI 600 USB form @lordsmurf and I encounter issues.
No problem during the installation, it was recognize under w10 64 following the procedure found on the site (with the iso installation disk).

I have picture and sound, but the picture is kind of "disturbed" (sorry, I don't know the correct english word).
It's like synchronisation problem (see attachement)

I set the configuration for pal so : 720*576 / PAL B / 25 fps
It's my default configuration for pal and it's working with no issue with my avermedia capture USB card.

I tried on:
  • virtualdub 32 and 64 (black screen in each case)
  • virtualdub 2 32 and 64 with the issue I explained
  • Amerec TV with the issue I explained
Could someone help ?

Thanks in advance
Kind regards
Chrisbati


Attached Files
File Type: avi ATI600.avi (80.59 MB, 83 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-11-2021, 09:37 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 334 Times in 276 Posts
ATI 600 video and audio stuttering.

First, in VirtualDub try disabling Audio Preview. This feature is known to cause problems. To check that audio is coming into the capture device, and not clipping, you can still use the Volume Level Meter.
http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...html#post69464

If that doesn't help, make sure the device is directly connected to the USB port, without hubs or extensions, and try different ports.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-11-2021, 01:09 PM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,195
Thanked 527 Times in 487 Posts
Are you sure that's not PAL-M 525/59.94 fields/s ? What's wrong with the Avermedia?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-12-2021, 12:59 AM
drzapp drzapp is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 97
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
I have this same issue, I think it is caused by a recent Windows 10 update. I had used the 600 USB for a year just fine in Windows 10. Then I took a year off capturing stuff, and just started up again, and my video now looks just like your sample. I've tried several drivers available on the internet, multiple capture programs, with no luck, so let me know if you find a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
06-12-2021, 04:58 AM
chrisbati chrisbati is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 44
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latreche34 View Post
Are you sure that's not PAL-M 525/59.94 fields/s ? What's wrong with the Avermedia?
Yes I'm sure as the same input works fine with the avermedia.
I just wanted to upgrade to ATI which is apparently the best in rendering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
ATI 600 video and audio stuttering.

First, in VirtualDub try disabling Audio Preview. This feature is known to cause problems. To check that audio is coming into the capture device, and not clipping, you can still use the Volume Level Meter.
http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...html#post69464

If that doesn't help, make sure the device is directly connected to the USB port, without hubs or extensions, and try different ports.
Thanks for your answer.

Audio is disabled.
The key is directly put in usb port, i tried 6 out of 15 but i don't think the other will helps as they are usb 3.1 or usb-c.

I still have the same problem
Reply With Quote
  #6  
06-12-2021, 08:13 AM
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 354
Thanked 68 Times in 59 Posts
I have never been able to force my clone to perform properly. Yup, Windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
06-15-2021, 03:11 AM
chrisbati chrisbati is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 44
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I tried multiple modifications : privacy settings, different ati driver, different usb video driver, tried nvidia studio driver.
Still the same issue

-- merged --

So any idea except other OS ?
Didn't worth the price I paid
Reply With Quote
  #8  
06-23-2021, 02:43 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,355
Thanked 2,431 Times in 2,066 Posts
Nvidia+Win10 is an evil combo for capture. I'm not sure yet what causes it. Making matters worse yet, the Nvidia drivers were neutered at some point, removing options for fallback to the CPU+motherboard's graphics. It's not the capture card with the issue.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Sparx (08-21-2021)
  #9  
06-23-2021, 08:25 PM
BarryTheCrab BarryTheCrab is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Gillette Stadium
Posts: 354
Thanked 68 Times in 59 Posts
My old-dusted-off ATI refurb laptop with W7x64 embedded has given me new life for my 950 I purchased from LS, and also my lucky-find 600 clone. Oddly my 850 is not fully functional ...yet.
I need to take my 950 off Market here.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
07-01-2021, 04:02 AM
chrisbati chrisbati is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 44
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Finally, I managed to make my ati 600 working properly.
I tried the ati 600 on my old HP elitebook (i5 3210m 2.5ghz; 4gb ram) and it worked.
It also has a AMD radeon hd7570m as GPU, which I think is the reason why it's working, but I'm not sure.

On my main photo/video pc I have an nvidia 1070 gtx.

What I don't understand is how the graphic card is involved in the process of capturing ?
Ok for displaying the video, but even if I choose to not display anything, and only capturing, I still have the problem.

Is there anything I can check (other than buying and trying and AMD GPU on my main pc) to find the issue on my main pc ?

Thanks in advance

Chrisbati

-- merged --

So finally, that's not a victory

on my laptop:
  • picture ok, no issue
    sound delay issue (tried all the stuff in virtualdub2, same result)
on my desktop:
  • picture KO, stuttering
    sound delay OK !
so, on one computer the picture is ok, not the sound, on the other, the opposite.

I tried all the parameters possible in vdub2 (overlay, preview, no picture, all the options for timing). I have never set "audio playback" on.

any suggestion ?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
07-27-2021, 05:24 PM
Symoon Symoon is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After a few years of happily recording VHS tapes with the ATI HD 600 USB on my Windows 10 system, I now have the exact same problem than you. I think it's the latest NVIDIA drivers update
I tried to rollback to the previous version, but it didn't solve anything (worse, my 2nd screen wasn't detected anymore !).

I'm using another no-name USB catpure device, and it still works as it did before. I hate those automatic updates that trash your computer. I suppose we'd need to use a computer that is never connected to the network for capturing work.
I tested all on both VirtualDub and AmaRecTV - no difference.

Anyway, no solution so far. I'm afraid that NVIDIA won't fix anything about this, so unless someone finds something about ATI HD 600 USB / Windows 10 / Nvidia, we might have to use another computer disconnected from Internet updates, or another USB capture device :/

-- merged --

(actually, NVIDIA or more likely Windows 10 update... Seems many people experience stuttering problems with games too, after some 2021 Windows updates...)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
08-04-2021, 09:33 PM
nicholasserra nicholasserra is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 116
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
I always turn off audio preview and also video preview in virtualdub when capturing or else I get stuttering in video.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
08-21-2021, 11:05 AM
Symoon Symoon is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After cloning my hard drive (with Macrium Reflect, works great apparently), I restored the factory version of Windows 10 on my computer and I can use the ATI 600 USB again without any problem.
So blame Microsoft's updates that turn your tools into useless garbage. I'd be happily surprised if there's a fix some day - not holding my breath...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
08-21-2021, 03:56 PM
Sparx Sparx is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Posts: 25
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Ohhh my goodness, thankful...(yet annoyed) that I'm not alone.
I just had to dual boot Windows 7 on my Windows 10 machine to get it to work properly!
for the record - I have a GTX970 and Windows 10 + Ati USB 600

When I installed Windows 7 it worked fine (and that's with the latest GTX970 drivers/experience - so it's certainly one of the updates for Windows 10...I am so annoyed. Everything was fine last time I did a transfer (maybe 6 months ago?).

I've tried jiggling settings too, nadda. I hope someone smarter than I comes up with the fix for Win 10, I don't really want to have to be jumping between hard drives. Wish I had room for a dedicated Win 7 machine. (tried Windows XP this morning, motherboard really didn't like it, or perhaps the other way around.)


Attached Files
File Type: mpg help.mpg (9.81 MB, 11 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
08-21-2021, 04:32 PM
Sparx Sparx is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Posts: 25
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Just a quick update one what I've been trying at my end -

I uninstalled at the most recent windows KB updates - all the ones it would let me, at least, back till about February - and the problem persists. However!!!

in the windows update history it also shows that at the end of May windows update the USB driver to a samsung one 2.17.6.0 and I am very very suspicious about that so my next step is to throw that one out and see if I can get the original one for my z97-hd3 installed...fingers crossed.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
08-21-2021, 05:45 PM
Symoon Symoon is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for investigating!
I also had tried removing the latest updates, but my computer wouldn't allow me to go back that much (nothing before May IIRC)... As I'm not very familiar with Win10, I gave up this path.

Any information on locating the root cause will help, please keep us informed!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
11-27-2023, 04:09 PM
qwertz73 qwertz73 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 28
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I had exactly the same problem with ATI 600 USB on Windows 10 and found the solution for me. I have two PCI-E sound cards. 3 weeks ago I temporarily replaced my ASUS Xonar Essence STX II sound card with Sound Blaster ZxR, because I had to do an optical audio capture from a LaserDisc. I spent several days with the latter card installed.

Last week, while trying to capture with ATI 600, I noticed that there was a constant image jump on Windows 10 (see attached file), whereas everything was normal on Windows 7.

It was only by re-installing the ASUS Xonar Essence that everything went back to normal on Windows 10. Why this problem with one sound card and not the other? I have no idea. But if it can help others solve this problem.


Attached Files
File Type: avi ATI.600.USB.+Sound.Blaste.ZxR+Windows10.avi (65.27 MB, 16 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
11-28-2023, 03:56 AM
Sparx Sparx is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Kendal, Cumbria
Posts: 25
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I gave up trying to find solutions for it and just put together a reasonable Windows 7 machine which isn't attached to the internet and that's what I use as my main VHS transfer machine.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
11-28-2023, 04:36 AM
qwertz73 qwertz73 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 28
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I'll stick with Windows 10 as long as it works.
My version is the following.

Windows 10 Professionnel
22H2
19045.3693
Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.19053.1000.0
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI TV Wonder 600 suddenly unstable picture? someperson Capture, Record, Transfer 13 01-15-2021 09:57 AM
Hitachi VT-F90EM VCR unstable image, buzzing noise? FanKing11000 Video Hardware Repair 0 11-02-2020 04:21 PM
AG-1980 refurbished, now HiFi and EP unstable? jdmack Capture, Record, Transfer 2 01-08-2020 02:43 AM
Hauppauge USB-Live2 trouble with unstable input? Kocane Capture, Record, Transfer 12 03-25-2018 10:44 AM
JVC HM-DH3000U D-VHS VCR has unstable audio on analog inputs? Jpass992 Video Hardware Repair 1 08-11-2012 10:03 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM