Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
01-19-2022, 03:37 PM
SeveralOrange7639 SeveralOrange7639 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have spoke to Lord Smurf over PM and have purchased a USB pinnacle capture card from him along with a VHS player (JVC HR-S8700) from VCRShop and a ES-10 from Ebay. I have set up a spare PC with Windows XP with VirtualDub and the Huffyuv codec.

I am in the UK, I have set the resolution to 720x576 and using the standard Huffyuv codec, I was originally using the multi-threaded version, but LS advised me to use the regular version.

I have also installed both versions of the codec on the PC I plan to play and edit the captures from.

The first captures wouldn’t play in VLC but would play in Windows Media Player okay, since changing to the standard Hufffyuv codec the captures will play in VLC but audio only in Windows Media Player.

I was hoping to use Adobe Premiere Pro to edit with as already have it installed and familiar with it, however dragging any of the captures in gives me an error. I presume because it isn’t seeing the codec. LS suggested I may need to install ffdshow, I have installed that but getting the same error. Do I need to configure this somehow? Premiere Pro is version 22.0.0, Build 169.

I have done a few test captures and would appreciate some feedback on them, before I go ahead capturing full tapes. The files were too large to upload, so have put them on Google drive.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...uM?usp=sharing


Attached Images
File Type: png Premiere Pro Error.png (12.2 KB, 6 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-19-2022, 08:57 PM
ThumperStrauss ThumperStrauss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 86
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
I had the same error message on Windows 10, Premiere 22. Here is what worked for me:
http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...html#post81616

Re the three samples, thanks for posting. I don't have a JVC with TBC, so I'm really curious to see what I am missing. From the three samples, I prefer the one with the ES10 in the workflow. The snow on the rooftop is really interlace-looking (not sure the term) on the regular JVC, and on the TBC JVC. But regular JVC+ES10 looks best to me.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg TBC test.jpg (47.6 KB, 6 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-20-2022, 04:24 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 633
Thanked 177 Times in 154 Posts
The lineTBC of the JVC and the ES-10 without the lineTBC of the JVC are both able to correct the flagging happening at frame 90.

Immagine1.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


I prefere the image with lineTBC of the JVC compared to the image of the ES-10 without the lineTBC of the JVC because there are some more details in the white areas.

Immagine2.jpg

Image comparison https://imgsli.com/OTIxMDY

However, the differences are very very small, and the sequences have fields shifted in Y direction and inserted (duplicated) frames (defect from frame 47 to frame 56 for example) so it is difficult to sinchronyze and to judge

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


Reply With Quote
  #4  
01-20-2022, 04:50 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,514
Thanked 412 Times in 351 Posts
One thing you probably want to do is to turn off the on-screen display in the VCR menu.

As for the "shifted" frames, the JVC TBCs have a tendency to do that if there is a lot of instability, e.g on camcorder tapes where the camera is moving around a lot, so in those cases it may be better to leave the TBC off and let the ES10 handle it.

My Video gear overview/test/repair/stuff yt channel http://youtu.be/cEyfegqQ9TU
Reply With Quote
  #5  
01-20-2022, 05:39 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 633
Thanked 177 Times in 154 Posts
Quote:
As for the "shifted" frames, the JVC TBCs have a tendency to do that if there is a lot of instability, e.g on camcorder tapes where the camera is moving around a lot, so in those cases it may be better to leave the TBC off and let the ES10 handle it.
I confirm (actually one of the field is shifted, thus the frame), here a comparison of the different captures at frame 48 (of test18 - player no TBC.avi):

1.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


2.jpg

However, as I said is not easy to synchornize the 3 captures, so I may have compared different frames and then giving wrong conclusion, check yourself!


Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
capture, feedback, tbc, virtualdub

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feedback requested for initial 8mm tape capture! theugster Capture, Record, Transfer 15 11-22-2020 10:09 PM
Feedback on workflow to capture VHS video tape? Regular805 Capture, Record, Transfer 9 11-13-2020 08:13 AM
Any feedback on Magewell capture cards? premiumcapture Capture, Record, Transfer 4 01-01-2019 08:32 AM
Feedback on first VHS capture samples steffen42 Capture, Record, Transfer 0 06-26-2018 05:13 PM
VHS capture setup feedback - more equipment needed? Kugelfang Project Planning, Workflows 6 04-22-2015 09:54 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM