Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-29-2022, 06:58 AM
Free Member

Hi,

I'm new to capturing VHS and getting mixed results. I've read that adding a lossless compressor to the capture could help reduce frame drops and desync. So far I have been working without. Some captures are flawless, some are out of sync.

No matter what I do, no option to add a compressor is there. I have tried everything, everything, for hours, using threads in this forum as a guide, but no luck. Not really sure what to do from here on out.

This is in Virtualdub2. Curiously older versions of the program receive audio but no video input, so trying to use them doesn't seem possible right now.

Thanks so much in advance for any help.

Attached Images
File Type: png nocomp.PNG (9.1 KB, 12 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-29-2022, 07:08 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,461 Times in 2,093 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadsy View Post
I've read that adding a lossless compressor to the capture could help reduce frame drops and desync.
No.
That's like suggesting farting while driving helps the car go faster. While drops and sync can have a correlation (though not necessarily), there's really zero correlation for lossless.

What were you doing before? (Not that you'd want to go back, just for information here.)

Quote:
This is in Virtualdub2.
Don't use that. It often induces dropped frames, the capture function is bad. The 2 fork dev broke it.

Quote:
Curiously older versions of the program receive audio but no video input,
What card?
What OS?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Deadsy (07-29-2022)
07-29-2022, 08:49 AM
Free Member

Lordsmurf,