Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-13-2023, 01:48 PM
Free Member

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to exporting VHS to digital, and I wish I would have found this site before I had started, but I've already invested into some equipment that might not be the best for what I'm doing [converting VHS and mini8 tapes to digital], but it's working for what I need.

My setup is:
Toshiba DVR620KU - Found on eBay - It’s a VHS/DVD player/recorder.

Samsung SCL700 - also found on eBay - mini8 camcorder with s-video out.

Retrotink 2X-Pro - The inputs are component, s-video, and plain yellow rca along with stereo input that outputs to HDMI.

EVGA XR1 Pro - A capture device with HDMI to USB-C. This one is a bit overkill for this project, but could come in handy for other things.

I'm also using OBS, which reading from other posts is a bad thing. For my purpose of just getting the video of the tape, it works for me. Point me in the right direction for an article on what I should be using and I'll check that out. I'm also on a Mac, but I have access to Linux too. I've also got access to Windows, but not as easily.

Attached is a snippet of the output from recording output from a 25+ year old tape.

Every half second, the output flashes yellow. I'm not sure if this is the tape or my setup. I've played newer tapes [by about 10 years] and this problem doesn't occur.

Any ideas if this is the tape or my setup?

If this is the tape, and the yellow flashing is a result of the age, it doesn't seem like there is any way around this? Is there software that might help with "normalizing" the flashing to make it less obvious?

Attached Files
File Type: mp4 kitchen.mp4 (22.91 MB, 7 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

09-13-2023, 04:00 PM
Free Member

HDMI, OBS, component, composite are all bad things for SD analog video on a video tape.

https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
09-13-2023, 04:05 PM
Free Member