#1  
10-20-2023, 11:30 AM
MichalisRG MichalisRG is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello. I notice something strange in the preview on virtualdub and other programs. Here is a screenshot to see what i mean. The preview is streched in virtualdub so the dots in picture are more visible...
It only happens when the connection is S-Video and not when it is Composite.
The VCR is JVC-9600 and the capture card is diamond VC500. Has anyone seen the same problem again and how can i possibly solve it?
Thanks in advance


Attached Images
File Type: jpg S-Video.jpg (59.3 KB, 40 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-21-2023, 06:28 AM
KhAoS182 KhAoS182 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Spain
Posts: 96
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
JVC VCR have this problem in the menu called dot crawl, then in the capture they should disappear.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-21-2023, 06:48 AM
MichalisRG MichalisRG is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok so there isn't really a problem here.
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
12-03-2023, 11:55 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,363
Thanked 2,434 Times in 2,069 Posts
Menu screens are generated video,. not actual video, and can contain errors not seen in the actual video. The menus can be useful as tests patterns, but also not useful as test patterns. You really have to know the quaities of your deck, and how it interacts with TBCs and capture cards in your specific workflow.

PAL JVCs are more prone to errors than NTSC, and it's probably because the menus were designed NTSC, then ported to PAL. That's always been my theory. In general, PAL test patterns seem degraded more than not. I'm not referring to external patterns (which are often fine), but embedded patterns in devices.

VirtualDub is stretched beyond 5:4 (the 720x576 SAR) either because
(1) wrong capture resolution,
(2) an issues the graphics card.

The VC500 has issues, and is likely contributing to the crawl here.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
12-03-2023, 02:03 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,672
Thanked 443 Times in 380 Posts
I don't think it's anything to do with NTSC vs PAL. The reason you are seeing the dot pattern is because if you look at the schematics they didn't bother to wire up full separate S-Video output from the OSD chip, just composite, even on the SVHS decks so I think they just put out the composite signal on both y and c outputs when showing the OSD with background.

My Video gear overview/test/repair/stuff yt channel http://youtu.be/cEyfegqQ9TU
Reply With Quote
  #6  
12-03-2023, 08:51 PM
MichalisRG MichalisRG is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you all for your responses. I stopped using the VC500. I have now a pinnacle 710 and a Ati AIW 9000 so i think now the results will be better...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
12-06-2023, 01:39 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,363
Thanked 2,434 Times in 2,069 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodgey View Post
I don't think it's anything to do with NTSC vs PAL.
I agree, no it's not.

The difference between PAL and NTSC here is due to how the decks are made, likely with an NTSC native menu system being ported to PAL. Not a difference between PAL and NTSC inherently. Very brand specific, and deck line specific.

And I do think it's composited output over s-video, at least for the PAL units. I know it differs per deck for NTSC units.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video capture card that would capture all lines in NTSC? alltruefalse Capture, Record, Transfer 3 12-29-2018 01:48 AM
Video capture tracking problem question jgomezmiami Capture, Record, Transfer 0 08-22-2017 06:57 PM
Looking for a video capture card Jpass992 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 07-04-2011 02:55 AM
Video capture project, what direction is best? + Proc amp vs TBC + Best capture card? admin Project Planning, Workflows 11 06-16-2011 09:35 AM
ATI All In Wonder video capture card, with capture computer, for sale [SOLD] kpmedia Marketplace 1 05-23-2011 02:09 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM