Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
11-22-2023, 06:28 AM
Free Member

I'm currently getting back into capturing VHS tapes, I was doing a lot of capturing in the early 2000s, so I have some experience.

I currently have (or have on order)
1. A Philips VR1100 VCR
2. A Sony PVM-9044QM CRT monitor
3. A cheapo AV2HDMI upscaler
4. An Elgato Game Capture HD60 Pro PCIe capture card

I know that the upscaler+Elgato combo is pretty far from ideal. So, what would be a good next step? I'm thinking of building a dedicated capturing PC with an ATi AIW card, as those can be found for relatively cheap. I don't think I'm going to have the budget for a full-frame TBC any time soon.

Last edited by Frankysan; 11-22-2023 at 06:56 AM.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

11-25-2023, 05:15 PM
Free Member

The VR1100 is probably a good VCR at least, seems to have the Line TBC as it is a JVC clone. I'm still not totally sold on AIW cards just yet (even though I have spent the time to build a capture PC around the 9000 series). It can be quite frustrating to try to chase down a variety of issues that can occur with 20 year old hardware and I don't know that the bump in quality is necessarily that perceptible in the end. I think the main advantage of AIW is if you plan to capture to MPEG2 with ATI MMC which has good compression and maintains interlacing. It'll give you files that are more like 3-5GB per hour compared to 30GB+ for lossless captures.

All depends what you're going for I suppose. Newer capture cards like the GV-USB2 can be used with OBS and modern computing hardware and saved directly as your end format without having to go through multiple steps.