#1  
02-22-2024, 04:57 PM
Ekinox Ekinox is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Location: Québec city, Canada
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi everyone,

I know my topic sound like a joke but it's not And I know the result will be crap and it's not a big deal.
Anyway, for a film project, I've been asked by a client if it was possible to transfer some clips from a timeline to VHS.

I did some tests with the gear I have (Mac/PC, Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle & Ultrastudio 3D, JVC HR-S7500 & 9911U / Sony SLV-N750, Premiere, BM Media Express...) and it's all working ok. But as I'm getting into this, I'm wondering if there was somehow a way to get the "best" of the "worst" scenario for that. Is there any VCR to avoid for this kind of job? Settings within the VCR to enable/disable, Tape brands to avoid (Fuji maybe?), is this better to downscale before or in this situation I can just let the capture card do the job (I would think downscale before...), things like that. What's your experience with this, I'm curious to see if other people here already tried that. I'm not expecting miracles, don't worry!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-22-2024, 05:05 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,781
Thanked 2,495 Times in 2,121 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ekinox View Post
I know my topic sound like a joke but it's not
Not at all. Just uncommon now.

Quote:
And I know the result will be crap
Not at all. VHS looks way better than most people realize. Bad VHS is user error, garbage equipment, bad VCRs, bad tapes. Not VHS itself..

Quote:
I did some tests with the gear I have (Mac/PC, Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle & Ultrastudio 3D, JVC HR-S7500 & 9911U / Sony SLV-N750, Premiere, BM Media Express...) and it's all working ok. But as I'm getting into this, I'm wondering if there was somehow a way to get the "best" of the "worst" scenario for that.
Source matters. Without knowing more, no advice, no idea if you're doing good or bad here.

Quote:
Is there any VCR to avoid for this kind of job?
No, just use one of those JVCs. I used 3800s for recording in the late 90s, when I often digitally restored video back to VHS tapes. Back before DVD was an option, and VCD sucked.

Quote:
Settings within the VCR to enable/disable,
On the JVC, disable calibration for sure. Actually, just disable everything, for recording.

Quote:
Tape brands to avoid (Fuji maybe?),
Fuji is awful.
Best = TDK, JVC.

Quote:
is this better to downscale before
Before ... but you also need to properly interlace the content. But again, source matters.

Quote:
What's your experience with this, I'm curious to see if other people here already tried that.
Yep, but 25+ years ago. Not just "tried", but did.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-23-2024, 02:43 AM
latreche34 latreche34 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,366
Thanked 552 Times in 510 Posts
Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle known to have issues with analog video tape sources.

https://www.youtube.com/@Capturing-Memories/videos
Reply With Quote
The following users thank latreche34 for this useful post: lordsmurf (02-23-2024)
Reply




Tags
digital, transfer, vhs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best set-up for transfer to digital lidorariel2310 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 0 03-02-2021 08:19 AM
JVC Digital-S (D9) transfer service? Vincent Capture, Record, Transfer 6 12-09-2020 09:02 AM
How to best transfer analog to digital? three4rd Capture, Record, Transfer 5 11-08-2019 11:50 AM
Best VCR for digital transfer AndyO6322 Capture, Record, Transfer 10 02-13-2013 10:52 AM
Super 8mm Transfer to Digital JasonCA Project Planning, Workflows 5 10-27-2011 10:58 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM