#1  
04-12-2024, 07:10 PM
mbassiouny mbassiouny is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 269
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Hi

I have a JVC HR-S5955. The front Display Panel shows --:-- and after I set the clock it shows the clock now.

When I insert a tape it plays fine, OSD shows correct tape timing, but I can't find the setting to make the front display show the tape time instead of the clock... I can't find it in the manual neither :/

Can anyone help with instructions for this setting?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-13-2024, 02:28 PM
themaster1 themaster1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 518
Thanked 108 Times in 92 Posts
press --:-- on the remote most likely
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-14-2024, 01:52 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,750
Thanked 2,484 Times in 2,113 Posts
Model of remote?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-15-2024, 04:23 AM
mbassiouny mbassiouny is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 269
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
I am starting to think that this relatively lower-end model did not have a proper counter.

Coincidentally I found this video which happens to show the device working with --:-- (which is what is shown when you're on clock mode and your clock is not set)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grKLftR-nWI

Also this video for another low end model does not seem to show a counter neither
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQFAtdOb2sg

I wonder if it is a coincidence to see many people with clock mode? or did JVC cheap out for the lower-end models for the last generations of VCR?

The manual does not seem to explicitly mention this limitation, but when I compared with the manual of the HR-S6700 I noticed the HR-S6700 clearly calls it "counter/remain display" while the manual of the 5950 does not.

@themaster1, I did, but it only shows the time on screen, not on the front panel of the device...

@lordsmurf, I use one remote (the LP20667008B that came with a HR-S9700MS) and it has always worked for all my JVC VCRs even the Japanese Ones

Do you think it might be remote-related?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg hr-s5950 front panel manual page.jpg (40.3 KB, 0 downloads)
File Type: jpg hr-s6700 front panel manual page.jpg (59.6 KB, 0 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-15-2024, 04:48 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,750
Thanked 2,484 Times in 2,113 Posts
The LP20667 should be fine, somewhat like a gen1 NTSC LP20303.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-15-2024, 09:06 AM
themaster1 themaster1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: France
Posts: 518
Thanked 108 Times in 92 Posts
Press several times on --:--, should display on the FP imo. Read the manual for more infos, i don't know this model particularly. Any JVC i had (about 3) can display on the FP
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-15-2024, 07:38 PM
mbassiouny mbassiouny is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 269
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
@themaster1, thanks for trying to help I really appreciate it (as well as many of your posts on larepaire in general!)

Sadly, That doesn't work.

I have tried a crazy amount of JVC devices from the ranges HR-S6XXX to 9XXX both EU and Non-Eu models and all had timer on FP , I am familiar with the devices and the functions so I am not trying to compare based on other devices as this is a different first lower-end S-VHS model (HR-S5xxx series).

Check my post above, about the manual and what I found there https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vid...html#post96215

I am mainly hoping for someone who owns a similar device and has a definitive answer, or someone who knows for a fact that there exists (as weird as it sounds) a late generation of JVC vcrs that can't display tape time on front panel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-15-2024, 10:18 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,750
Thanked 2,484 Times in 2,113 Posts
There is an non-TBC NTSC model that doesn't (easily?) display time on the front, but I forget the model offhand. It's been at least 5 years since I saw it. Since it wasn't a recommended VCR, I didn't bother taking notes on it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-20-2024, 04:43 AM
mbassiouny mbassiouny is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 269
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
I found another user with the same model, he said he never had the tape time neither since he bought the device.

I compared with the manual of the HR-S7955 which explicitly call this area "elapsed time" while the manual of the HR-S5955 does not.

By comparing the 2 manuals, I can confirm the HR-S5955 cannot show the tape time on the front panel.

Other than that, the 5955, 6955, 7955 for SECAM users are all pretty much the same, no TBC, similar design, many common internal parts (from what I see visually no SM).

Very weird cost-saving choice :/
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Datavideo TBC-3000 switch mod? KhAoS182 Video Hardware Repair 7 03-06-2024 08:53 AM
Recommendations for s-video switch/splitter? drzapp Capture, Record, Transfer 17 07-27-2019 01:48 PM
DVI KVM switch recommendations? VideoTechMan Computers 2 03-02-2016 04:20 AM
VirtualDub audio sync, timer settings? thefan007 Capture, Record, Transfer 10 09-23-2015 04:01 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM