#1  
05-24-2024, 04:22 PM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
This is all I'm getting at the moment. VCR->TBC-1000->USB-Live2-AmarecTV

All via S-Video at the moment. If I use composite video out of the TBC instead, I get a decent picture. If I use composite out of the VCR, I get nothing whatsoever.

Audio was working before, but isn't now. Works in VirtualDub, though. Even start/stop recording, which usually plays a sound in Amarec, is silent.

The attached video is a VLC recording of the original capture, because when attempting to use FFMPEG to trim/re-encode it (since it needn't be lossless to convey what I'm trying to convey here), I get the errors "scale/rate is 0/0 which is invalid. (This file has been generated by broken software.)" and "Invalid sample rate: 0"


Attached Files
File Type: avi Capture.avi (83.18 MB, 30 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-24-2024, 06:11 PM
mrmuy97 mrmuy97 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 109
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by koberulz View Post
This is all I'm getting at the moment. VCR->TBC-1000->USB-Live2-AmarecTV

All via S-Video at the moment. If I use composite video out of the TBC instead, I get a decent picture. If I use composite out of the VCR, I get nothing whatsoever.

The attached video is a VLC recording of the original capture, because when attempting to use FFMPEG to trim/re-encode it (since it needn't be lossless to convey what I'm trying to convey here), I get the errors "scale/rate is 0/0 which is invalid. (This file has been generated by broken software.)" and "Invalid sample rate: 0"
Wow that video is horrific.

I'm not sure which capture chain you're referencing when you say
"composite video out of the TBC"
(was that still s-video input?) and
"composite out of the VCR"
(was that still with the TBC in the capture chain? if so, was that composite or s-video output?)


Please clarify:

1- Who refurbished (or at the very least simply recapped) your TBC-1000, and how long ago was that?
2- VCR --composite--> USB capture = ??
3- VCR --y/c--> USB capture = ??
4- VCR --composite--> TBC-1000 --composite--> USB capture = "composite out of the VCR, I get nothing whatsoever"
5- VCR --composite--> TBC-1000 --y/c--> USB capture = "composite out of the VCR, I get nothing whatsoever"
6- VCR --y/c--> TBC-1000 --composite--> USB capture = "decent picture"
7- VCR --y/c--> TBC-1000 --y/c--> USB capture = horrible distortion as seen in sample clip


Because we want to determine:

1- Does your TBC-1000 need diagnostic & repair work?
(A: ??)
2- Does VCR composite output & USB capture composite input function properly?
(A: ??)
3- Does VCR y/c output & USB capture y/c input function properly?
(A: ??)
4- Does TBC composite input & TBC composite output function properly?
(A: no; "composite out of the VCR, I get nothing whatsoever")
5- Does TBC composite input & TBC y/c output function properly?
(A: no; "composite out of the VCR, I get nothing whatsoever")
6- Does TBC y/c input & TBC composite output function properly?
(A: yes; "decent picture")
7- Does TBC y/c input & TBC y/c output function properly?
(A: no; horrible distortion as seen in sample clip)


Then, having all those answers, further determinations can be made.

recommended vcr+line tbc ---(Y/C)--> recommended frame tbc or "tbc-ish" ---(Y/C)--> capture
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-25-2024, 10:33 AM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
It seems some of the composite issues I was having were related to the SCART cable. It's branched, so the one SCART plug goes out to two separate sets of RWY cables. RW go into the TV, and I'd been using the other yellow to test. Using the Y that's attached to the RW plugged into the TV, I'm able to get a picture on setups that previously didn't work.

I also can't get a preview at all in VDub. I'm not seeing a blank window or anything, there's just literally nothing, like I never opened anything to begin with (though I can hear audio playback if I enable that). AmarecTV, meanwhile, seems to search for an S-Video signal even if I switch the input in the AmarecTV settings to composite.

And as a result of testing all these outcomes, plus a couple of others...it works now. I have no idea why. I tested all of them myself over the past few days and it remained broken.


Quote:
1- Who refurbished (or at the very least simply recapped) your TBC-1000, and how long ago was that?
It hasn't been modified since I bought it back in 2016.

Quote:
2- VCR --composite--> USB capture = ??
Blank screen in AmarecTV, the AVS works.

Quote:
3- VCR --y/c--> USB capture = ??
Works.

Quote:
4- VCR --composite--> TBC-1000 --composite--> USB capture
Blank screen in AmarecTV, the AVS works.

Quote:
5- VCR --composite--> TBC-1000 --y/c--> USB capture
Works.

Quote:
6- VCR --y/c--> TBC-1000 --composite--> USB capture
Blank screen in AmarecTV, the AVS works.

Quote:
7- VCR --y/c--> TBC-1000 --y/c--> USB capture
Works.

For additional data:
8- VCR--composite-->TV: Works
9- VCR--composite-->TBC-1000 --composite-->TV: Works.
10- VCR--y/c-->TBC-1000 --composite-->TV: Works.

So something in Amarec doesn't like composite input, and the rest of it is gremlins.

However, none of these setups yield audio in AmarecTV. Which is...an issue, to say the least.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-25-2024, 09:51 PM
mrmuy97 mrmuy97 is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 109
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Just a quick reply for now, am I reading correctly that:

1. You have at least one fully working composite video + R&L audio output via the SCART cable for testing this
2. Composite video output from both VCR & TBC always displays properly on TV
3. Y/C video output from both VCR & TBC always displays properly on TV
4. Composite video input to the capture device never works
5. Y/C video input to the capture device always works

If that's all correct, and there were some other comments you made in that last post, it sounded like a potential hardware issue with your capture device composite input. Unless you've had a successful composite video capture with the capture device.

recommended vcr+line tbc ---(Y/C)--> recommended frame tbc or "tbc-ish" ---(Y/C)--> capture
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-25-2024, 10:38 PM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
I don't have an S-Video input on my TV, so that's untested.

Composite into the USB doesn't work in AmarecTV. It does work in AviSynth via GraphEdit. I can't get a video preview in VDub under any circumstances.

No combination of options gets me audio in AmarecTV.

If I can fix the AmarecTV audio, I'm good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-26-2024, 11:50 PM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Sandgroper country, Australia
Posts: 770
Thanked 138 Times in 131 Posts
Try deleting your AmarecTV.ini file in the AmarecTV folder, then restart it.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Hushpower for this useful post: lordsmurf (05-27-2024)
  #7  
05-27-2024, 12:48 AM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
That did the trick.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
05-27-2024, 01:00 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Sandgroper country, Australia
Posts: 770
Thanked 138 Times in 131 Posts
Good oh!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
05-30-2024, 09:13 AM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rebooted my computer and lost audio again. Same solution, but am I going to have to do all my settings from scratch every time I boot now?

-- merged --

False hope, I've got this garbage going on. VCR->S-Video->TBC->S-Video->USB. VCR->Composite->TV was free of glitches.

Given how intermittent it was, it's rather more difficult to test all the different combos.

-- merged --

Anyone have any ideas here?


Attached Files
File Type: avi glitchy.avi (45.73 MB, 8 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
06-03-2024, 04:46 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Sandgroper country, Australia
Posts: 770
Thanked 138 Times in 131 Posts
Ordinarily, I'd suggest an ES-10 or 15. That'd sort that glitchy nonsense out quick-smart.

You know the tape and VCR via Composite is basically OK because of the TV test.

If you are in Perth and you don't have access to an ES-15, I'm happy to bring mine (or my EH-57) around for you to try.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
06-03-2024, 05:10 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,832
Thanked 2,504 Times in 2,129 Posts
I see some sort of chroma misread, likely the VCR, but it could be elsewhere in the hardware stack.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #12  
06-03-2024, 10:35 AM
koberulz koberulz is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 470
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hushpower View Post
Ordinarily, I'd suggest an ES-10 or 15. That'd sort that glitchy nonsense out quick-smart.
In between the VCR and TBC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
I see some sort of chroma misread, likely the VCR, but it could be elsewhere in the hardware stack.
Not really sure what you mean by this but if the VCR is misreading the tape it would be an issue on the TV as well, would it not?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
06-03-2024, 08:11 PM
Hushpower Hushpower is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Sandgroper country, Australia
Posts: 770
Thanked 138 Times in 131 Posts
Try VCR>ES15>USBLive2.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picture wrong, audio distorted ATI VirtualDub? Ohank Capture, Record, Transfer 11 01-26-2022 08:14 PM
VHS tape distorted, sound static, image salvageable? andrewprjnn1 Capture, Record, Transfer 10 12-21-2020 01:23 AM
LG N9391 VCR distorted picture on SP, not LP mode? Aidy80s Video Hardware Repair 4 05-20-2020 09:02 AM
Distorted sound and picture on home movies 123Donnie Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 08-18-2017 08:01 AM
Distorted picture during capture sdr0 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-21-2005 03:37 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM