08-13-2009, 02:06 AM
Free Member

Hi there,

I'm a newbie here. I came across these boards via google search.

I'm doing all of my research on converting VHS to DVD. You seem like the member with great experience with the process and systems.

I really want to get the best footage that I can possibly get out of the old tapes that I have. I'm not expecting much, being that some of the tapes are about 20yrs old.

So, there is a lot of talk about the JVC VCRs being highly recommended. I was directed to the HR-S9911U. Clearly, it's a hard system to find. In your opinion, is this really the best system to make the most out of VHS tapes? Or do you suggest a better model?

I greatly appreciate your recommendations. Thank you for any information, and your time. Joey

joeyanyc

This question was asked in a private message. Rather than hide our tech advice in private conversations, Site Staff will often answer PMs (from any site) here in the digitalFAQ.com forum, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

08-14-2009, 02:32 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
JVC high-end S-VHS machines will usually play most tapes in excellent quality -- far surpassing what a plain consumer VHS VCR would do. However, as with anything else, these have quirks.

I would need to know more about the tapes.
  • Not just age, but
  • condition (stored indoors/closet/room, or in a basement/attic/garage?),
  • the recording mode (SP 2-hour, LP 4-hr, EP 6-hr, SLP 6-hr),
  • and the length of the recordings.
  • Were these made in VCRs or VHS home movie cameras?