Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
08-30-2010, 12:42 PM
Free Member

Your Lorship, I've read as many dissenting opinions as how to clean the heads of a video deck as I had of the Panasonic 1980 VS the JVC models that you recommend.

Something I found on a post: The only reason to use fedron is to resurface a rubber device such as a pinch roller or belt if they get slick,as to cleaning heads use a chamois tipped stick with 99% isopropyl cleaning the heads sideways. I've been using q-tips to clean vcrs for the last 25 years doing it in repair shops,it will leave strands and pull out ferrite heads if you dont know what you are doing but it's the best method for cleaning heads. I've talked to engineer techs who dont know how to repair anything and every repair tech i know uses 99% isopropyl.

Q tips, foam Tips, Those cleaning tapes you put in.
I will be playing a lot of old tapes and I think I should keep the heads clean, right?
I just got the deck so should I start out by cleaning the heads?

The deck is in good shape, but my tapes could leave dust or residue. And then cleaning the rollers and the rubber parts is another thing. I know this is a common question and I did google it. I just wanted your opinion. I could probably do more damage than not going in with a fuzzy q tip. I do remember cleaning the heads myself and I do know people who know video stuff could tell me what they would do. Thanks

This question was asked in a private message. Rather than hide our tech advice in private conversations, Site Staff will often answer PMs (from any site) here in the digitalFAQ.com forum, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

08-31-2010, 07:44 PM