#21  
01-18-2009, 05:04 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I'm going to be capturing with 352x480 4500k max 3500 avg for 3 hrs on each DVD. I've decided to go with DVD5 SL.
So would that be 3500 in the bitrate box & and 4500 in the Peak box?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
01-18-2009, 05:06 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
Given the content (wrestling), quality may suffer capturing it directly to a lower bitrate. You'll just have to see.

If you want to skip re-encoding, then you should probably captures at 352x480, but with 4000 avg, and 5000 as max (peak). It'll put about 2.5 hours on a single DVD. That's honestly the best compromise between time and quality.

It would be
4000 in "Bit Rate" box
5000 in "Bit Rate (Peak)" box

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #23  
01-18-2009, 05:14 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
No, I don't want to skip the re-encoding. After what you said about it, I think it would be in my best interest to take the extra time and do it. I remember you said that you'd do the 3 hrs on SL, so that's what made me decide to do that.
When you say re-encoding, does that mean it's encoded first as it's capturing originally, and then when I encode it thru an encoding program that is when it's re-encoded?
Since I'm going to re-encode it with a encoding program what would the new bitrates be? I'm guessing the ones you gave in your last post is for if I skip re-encoding..
Reply With Quote
  #24  
01-18-2009, 05:18 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
Quote:
When you say re-encoding, does that mean it's encoded first as it's capturing originally, and then when I encode it thru an encoding program that is when it's re-encoded?
Yes, that's exactly it.

What you want to do, in this case, is set WinTV to capture CONSTANT bitrate. You won't have a "peak" value, only one value. The value for this very first encode needs to be:

720x480
"Bit Rate" of 15000 (that's 15,000, fifteen thousand)

This will give a huge file. It's for capturing only, it won't work on a DVD. You'll re-encode this in an encoder, such as MainConcept, to the lower bitrate values, and the lower resolution, and it will be DVD-Video compliant, something you can author with menus, and burn to disc to play on a normal DVD player.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #25  
01-18-2009, 05:22 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I've never used an encoder before, so you said I'll have to make it a lower bitrate & lower resolution, is that when I'd make it 352x480 with the 3500 bitrate, and the 4500 max in the encoder program?

Last edited by Superstar; 01-18-2009 at 05:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
01-18-2009, 05:41 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
Quote:
is that when I'd make it 352x480 with the 3500 bitrate, and the 4500 max in the encoder program?
Yes, that is correct.

I guess we'll be discussing hot to use encoders down the road, when that time comes, once you're able to find one that you like, and it will install and work correctly for you.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #27  
01-18-2009, 11:33 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Should I use this bitrate setting for all videos 3 hrs or less?

What you want to do, in this case, is set WinTV to capture CONSTANT bitrate. You won't have a "peak" value, only one value. The value for this very first encode needs to be:

720x480
"Bit Rate" of 15000 (that's 15,000, fifteen thousand)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
01-18-2009, 11:49 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,304
Thanked 2,270 Times in 1,943 Posts
I don't understand your question. It might be becase you're getting ahead of yourself. Let's worry about STEP 1 first.

STEP 1 =
Capture videos in WinTV with PVR250 card. Capture with a setting of 15000k CBR 720x480.

STEP 2 =
encoding, worrying about "hours" on a disc, etc. We'll talk about that when you've got some video captured.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to create mix DVDs, compilation DVDs? admin Edit Video, Audio 24 02-25-2010 03:03 PM
Examples of Jitter Removed from videos lordsmurf Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 11-19-2009 05:48 AM
How to put videos on my iPod ? gatch72 Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 0 11-05-2006 12:15 PM
Newbie help - take recorded videos and stills, put them together mags102 Project Planning, Workflows 4 08-11-2006 02:18 PM
Inserting writing on videos? emokid Edit Video, Audio 1 07-08-2006 04:39 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM