#1  
03-19-2009, 08:15 PM
dmsinger dmsinger is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Any hardware suggestions for HD capture?

I currently use a DAC-100 for standard. Works well, even though it's aged a bit.

Outside of some HD broadcast stations I can get on unencrypted QAM or OTA, I still need my cable box, and a device in between (otherwise I can use HTPC for recording, then just splice the file after). With the cable box comes another piece of hardware - but what? Is there anything that would let me capture HD like my DAC-100 lets me grab SD?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-20-2009, 02:00 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 637 Times in 453 Posts
What are you planning to do with the HD-source recordings? Create DVDs? Create Blu-Ray discs? Something else?

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-20-2009, 02:10 AM
dmsinger dmsinger is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Store on hard drive. Watch from there, or possibly make blu-rays.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-20-2009, 02:23 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 637 Times in 453 Posts
I just wanted to verify you really needed the HD in HD. I've come across folks who insist on the "HD quality" version, but then downconvert to DVDs. As you're apparently aware, it's no longer HD once that conersion is made.

The only device that I'm aware of, that can record the cable or satellite box output (from otherwise encrypted HD channels) is this unit from Hauppauge: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B0018LX0DY -- this box records from the component output of the cable/satellite receiver, and it includes standard "IR blaster" ability, to change channels and otherwise act as a true PVR.

The currently-best capture cards are made by Hauppauge, with a number of HD and SD options, fitting into external USB2 or internal PCI slots. The days of ATI Radeon cards died with AGP, and the merger with AMD.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-20-2009, 02:30 AM
dmsinger dmsinger is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No problem, understood about those who convert without realizing.

I'll check out the HD-PVR, just not sure I can edit the files it produces.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-20-2009, 02:39 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 637 Times in 453 Posts
You'll need to upgrade your software. I suggest Adobe Premiere Elements 7 for AVCHD editing, on the consumer end, only $79 at Amazon.

Of course, working with HD, you'll need a decent-speed computer, preferably one of the dual-core or multi-core systems. As always, Intel tends to work better for video work, AMD systems like to crash when running video software (especially from Adobe).

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-20-2009, 02:47 AM
dmsinger dmsinger is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks. I'll look into that if Vegas can't handle it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
03-20-2009, 02:55 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 637 Times in 453 Posts
The most recent version of Sony Vegas 9 should also handle AVCHD.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-09-2009, 01:54 PM
dmsinger dmsinger is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have Pro 8.0b (217)

I have the HD PVR and used the software that came with it to capture.

The M2TS file (or TS) can be opened by WMP and plays just fine.

Vegas opens the file, and plays it fine, but then has moments of blank video (while audio keeps playing). This happened with multiple files.

Think I need an upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
04-11-2009, 02:40 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 637 Times in 453 Posts
That may be the case, yes. Search Google for "Vegas 8" and "AVCHD" and most results are about problems and errors.

Do the same for Vegas 9, and you don't really see a lot in terms of problems and complaints.

As with anything else "cutting edge" technologically (in this case, HD video), a single version upgrade can make a big difference in the workflow, quality and buggy nature of the process.

Vegas 8 is a couple of years old at this point.

And remember I hate upgrading "because it's new" (such a stupid reason, if what you have now works). But this is not the case here, I bet, the new version does truly improve the experience.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
04-11-2009, 08:41 AM
dmsinger dmsinger is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The 9 that is out isn't the next version of the same Pro 8 though, is it? Hopefully I can run both side by side, as I don't want to lose anything. I'll give it a test.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
04-11-2009, 12:55 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 637 Times in 453 Posts
For the best answer to that question, I'd install the latest trial version of Pro Pack 9: http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/.../moviestudiopp

See how it reacts to a side-by-side install.

I'm not a big Vegas user, I've been with Adobe Premiere for almost 10 years now. Currently I use CS3 for my important editing projects. I still use 6.5 on small quick projects, because it can run on a couple of older systems, faster than CS3 will. Admittedly, however, I'm not doing much with HD-resolution video yet. I'm buried neck deep in DVD projects.

For that matter, if you're going to be forced to use something newer, consider giving Elements 7 a try, as it supports AVCHD. It too, has a trial available: http://www.adobe.com/products/premiereel

If you decide to buy either of these, please use our affiliate links:

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
04-11-2009, 04:19 PM
dmsinger dmsinger is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Unfortuantely Vegas 9 just crashes constantly. Import a file, and it either crashes right away, or a few seconds into play.

Maybe I'll give Premiere a shot.

Is there a M2TS convertor? If I could convert it to something else, I think I'd have little problem.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
04-11-2009, 06:19 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 637 Times in 453 Posts
Supposedly there is a method that works well involving a mix of
  • PowerDVD Ultra 9 (for the codec base),
  • AVISynth 2.5 (for some automated scripting), and
  • VirtualDub Mod 1.5 (the only program you'll actually "use" here).
My computers are all processing video (H.264's) this weekend, almost 24 hours per day, so my CPUs are too pegged to test this scenario at the moment.

I downloaded a sample M2TS file online, and have all of these programs on my Phenom X4 system. I'll move the samples across the network to that system, and as soon as it's free, I'll give a test.

I hope you have a powerful system to process the HD!
Out of curiosity, what are your system specs? CPU, RAM, Hard Drive (total space + free space), GPU (graphics card)

But almost everybody still suggests Vegas and/or Premiere. So give Premiere Elements a try, see how it works for you.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
04-11-2009, 06:32 PM
dmsinger dmsinger is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 36
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by admin View Post
Out of curiosity, what are your system specs? CPU, RAM, Hard Drive (total space + free space), GPU (graphics card)
Q6600 2.4GHz
4GB RAM ("3.25" since I use XP SP2)
~40GB free on a scratch drive, I move it over to either a drive I have 600GB+ free on or a NAS I have 3TB+ free on
(most of my clips are very short, 1-2mins)
GeForce 8600GTS
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM