Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
10-11-2012, 09:17 AM
unclescoob unclescoob is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 95
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
All who have knowledge in this area are welcome to respond of course. Smurf, of course if you're out there, your input is appreciated here as well:

I understand that alot of these programs are compressed (usually by now, most in MPEG-4) by the programmers before they deliver it to the distributor, which delivers it to your cable box.

But a series is currently airing which I wish to capture for my own video collection. It's an 80's cartoon which of course the original source is analog. I own the DVD series, but I figure if I record it in it's current distribution format (mpg4) I will actually have better quality video than the DVD set, which is MPEG-2 and, from what I gathered in g-spot, the bitrate is not that great.

Am I missing something or am I making sense here in doing this? I want the highest quality possible of this series and it makes sense that this is the way I'll be able to do it.

Also, what is the best way to record this? With a S-VHS system (and S-VHS master tapes) which I don't have but can quickly try to obtain OR, can I just record it into my cable box (FIOS offers this option) and save it until I am able to transfer it to tape?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-11-2012, 11:38 AM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,027
Thanked 212 Times in 190 Posts
im assuming this cartoon is being broadcast in SD..
if so doubt you will get any improvement of you store bought DVD's

i have Dish and had TW cable before that and while the HD quality is great on both the SD sucks bad.
they must over compress it or something - it looks like total crap on a 42 inch tv
DVDs look great on my TV, but the broadcast SD is horrid lately.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-11-2012, 11:49 AM
unclescoob unclescoob is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 95
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
What if it is delivered in HD? I think it is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
10-11-2012, 12:07 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,027
Thanked 212 Times in 190 Posts
also tape is the last thing you want to put it on!!
S-VHS cannot record in HD neither can a DVD recorder

ive tried it and it looks like crap and the DISH STB forces any HD content output via S-video or composite into in widescreen format so i get the black bars and top and bottom.

you will need an HD capture device
the Hauppauge HD-PVR is supposed to be pretty good
Reply With Quote
  #5  
10-11-2012, 12:35 PM
unclescoob unclescoob is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 95
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Just found out the content is delivered in SD. So what device would best capture this for me, so that I can transfer it to my computer for additional work?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
10-11-2012, 12:55 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,027
Thanked 212 Times in 190 Posts
does your FIOS STB have a S-video output?
if so an ATI600USB would be good.
you could also use a good DVD recorder.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broadcast Grade TBC - Leitch DPS-475/575 review LukeS Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 36 10-11-2019 08:12 AM
Capturing Satellite Broadcast using Canopus ADVC-110 Vs ATI AIW naripeddi Capture, Record, Transfer 5 07-18-2011 04:36 AM
Removing broadcast hum from TV recordings? Reading Bug Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 5 08-19-2010 04:04 PM
How to put two or more shows on one DVD ? Superstar Encode, Convert for discs 14 07-03-2010 12:01 PM
Capture Card Program for Recording Shows JonathanEntertainment Capture, Record, Transfer 3 03-22-2008 03:07 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM