Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
08-11-2013, 02:17 PM
Free Member

Hello all,

I am new to the forum but I have a few years of consumer-level experience with VHS to digital transfers.

I have recently taken on a project to digitize a few dozen SVHS tapes of microscopy data recorded in the 1990s.

Currently using a JVC SR-S365U on loan from the AV department. It seems to be working fine aside from the very serious problem of persistent "streaks" or "blips" appearing in the center of the image no matter what is done with the tracking settings. These artifacts are not on the tapes themselves, as they are absent when the tapes are played in lower-end VCRs. Should I attempt to clean the heads? I don't think this deck has been maintained much, if ever, during its probably very active service life.

Furthermore, the project manager would like a capture card solution that can encode the SVHS output to .mp4 "on-the-fly" in order to avoid compressing later due to time limitations.

Can any of the cards suggested here: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...ti-wonder.html accomplish this?

Finally, do I really need a TBC for this job? The tapes don't appear to have much jumpiness but I do want them to come out as optimally as possible.

I have a budget of a few hundred dollars for this job. Any suggestions at all would be most appreciated. Thank you for reading my thread and best regards!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

08-11-2013, 04:05 PM
Free Member

there is probably something wrong with that SR-S365U
try cleaning it, if it doesn't help buy a better deck
do you know what deck they where made on?
The following users thank volksjager for this useful post: yellow_inspir (08-24-2013)
08-12-2013, 10:53 PM
Free Member

Thanks for your interest in helping me out, volksjager.

Unfortunately, it would be impossible to track down what machine was used to make these tapes.