Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-17-2015, 11:00 AM
Free Member

Hi all.

I have acquired some old family VHS tapes which I would like to digitise. This is my first attempt at this so the learning curve is steep.

I have spent quite a lot of time browsing and reading various threads on this forum (a very impressive repository of knowledge). These have been particularly enlightening regarding the issues I am experiencing:
http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...nes-video.html
http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...dot-crawl.html

However, I have reached a point where I think I need an expert to take a look at my results, particularly with regards the severe dropout artefacts I am getting.

My setup is as follows:
  • Panasonic NV-HS830 VCR
  • ClimaxDigital VCAP800 USB 2.0 Video Capture for Mac and Windows
  • Apple iMac
  • various VHS tapes ranging in age from 1985 to 2006

The problem:
Based on the highly detailed responses in the above threads by lordsmurf (I'm really hoping you'll dispense some of your sage advice in my direction!), I think my problem is an extreme case of magnetic dropout. I have 13 tapes with varying amounts of footage - all except 1 (referred to as Tape 5 from now) exhibit extreme dropout.

What I've done so far:
  • played the tapes through a smart TV - 12 of 13 tapes show severe dropout, Tape 5 shows almost no dropout
  • fast forwarded and rewound a couple of tapes all the way through - no change whatsoever
  • changed the tracking up and down - no improvement at all
  • played a number of tapes through the capture setup - results are consistent with the smart TV test (i.e. all but Tape 5 show severe dropout, Tape 5 is fine)
  • tried capturing short sequences - dropout is captured as seen on smart TV and preview, Tape 5 captures fine

My conclusions so far:
  1. I strongly suspect this is due to the age of the tapes.