Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
08-29-2015, 05:32 PM
friendly_jacek friendly_jacek is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA (NTSC) but have PAL VHS tapes
Posts: 50
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i started using panasonic NV-HS1000 with internal TBC to capture home videos. i just realized that the TBC creates problems (horizontal line artifacts) on some tapes recorded in SP (see the first picture). turning the TBC off fixes the problem, but the picture quality suffers (2nd picture). fortunately, the external BVTBC8 works well in this circumstance (3rd picture).

ironically, the BVTBC8 cannot handle my tapes recorded in LP (most of them), while the VCR TBC works well with those.

any explanations?


Attached Images
File Type: jpg V4 AIon TBCon SP.jpg (65.3 KB, 62 downloads)
File Type: jpg V4 AIoff TBCoff SP.jpg (67.8 KB, 55 downloads)
File Type: jpg V4 AIoff TBCoff BVTBCon chroma 180 SP.jpg (66.9 KB, 51 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-29-2015, 06:04 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 85 Times in 75 Posts
Try a different setter.
That is why we have professional digitizer also more than 40 setter.
From a simple consumer to expensive JVC BR-S822

AI = off
TBC = off
Edit Mode = passive
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Goldwingfahrer for this useful post: archivarious (02-27-2021), lordsmurf (08-29-2015)
  #3  
08-29-2015, 06:44 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,815
Thanked 2,501 Times in 2,126 Posts
Setter = settings.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-29-2015, 06:49 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 85 Times in 75 Posts
Quote:
Setter = settings.
no = Player and Recorder
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-29-2015, 07:01 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,815
Thanked 2,501 Times in 2,126 Posts
Your translator goofed. You meant "settings". A "setter" a dog.

But your advice was spot on.

@friendly_jacek: Sometimes a TBC can introduce errors, instead of fix them. On those tapes, you need to try and turn off various NR, including TBC. If nothing else, just see what happens. Or better yet, try another VCR. If using JVC, try Panasonic. If using Panasonic, try a JVC. That's why pros maintain multiple decks, not just one


Attached Images
File Type: jpg woof.jpg (7.9 KB, 30 downloads)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
08-29-2015, 07:14 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 85 Times in 75 Posts
Yes, this is a beautiful dog.
Luckily you have Humor
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panasonic NV-HS1000 VCR does not operate? Berryscope Video Hardware Repair 2 03-15-2015 05:23 PM
Panasonic AG-5700E vs Panasonic NV-HS1000 for transferring tapes? tsakodim Capture, Record, Transfer 8 12-31-2014 10:00 AM
Can I use my Panasonic NV-HS1000 as a standalone TBC? hysteriah Video Hardware Repair 2 11-07-2014 07:15 AM
Internal TBC VCR or HQ Non-TBC VCR + Panasonic DMR-ES10? LukeS Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 10-25-2011 04:06 AM
Line noise, AVR, EMI/RFI Filters, Ground Loop Isolators. Confused Tuco Capture, Record, Transfer 1 04-28-2011 06:25 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM