07-08-2004, 02:42 AM
Premium Member

Total Newbie says Hi!
Just had my hard drive completely wiped and XP reinstalled by Pros ($$$). System finally crashed from too much installing and reinstalling software. So, I don't want to do any uninstalling without your advice.

WANT TO: capture 8mm and VHS analog home movies; convert them to digital; edit in Premiere; burn final files to DVDs for relatives.

PAST PROBLEM: Was able to capture video and audio using ATI TV--and play back OK using Windows Media Player/ATI's player. When same file imported into Premiere...video and audio on a single track (video). Could not edit audio. Video editing in Premiere OK. New file save in Premiere only saved video.

1. Please suggest best ATI software for this usage.
2. Please help me locate it (if an earlier version). ATI's site is not intuitive. I always get redirected to the most current version of their software although I try to find earlier versions.
3. Please suggest best file format for capture (AVI?) for import into Premiere. I was using MPEG-2 which you say is a poor choice.
4. Can I do a capture directly from Premiere. If so, what do I need?

Yours,
Judy Almendariz

P.S. Sorry if this is a repetitious request...but all of this is very confusing for me. I've had more than one headache over this matter--especially when Adobe and ATI had me bouncing back and forth for days on the phone.

ATI SOFTWARE: mmc-9-0-0-0, mmc-8-1-0-0-dao-mdac, wxp-w2k-catalyst-8-01-040421a-01, atiCDwiz-V2-1
SYSTEM: Athlon 2600+, 1.92GH, 512MB, 75 MB disk (63MB free); DirectX 9.0b; ATI All-In-Wonder Pro 9800; Sound Blaster Live; Premiere Pro 1.5; XP Home.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-08-2004, 03:18 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
I have two possible methods for you. Give me a few days to get all the images I'll need and write some descriptions.

Your hardware and software look perfect. (And you probably mean GB not MB on the hard drive.) Don't change anything.