Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-25-2018, 11:32 PM
Free Member

I am new here, been lurking for a while..and I'm truly gobsmacked at the amount of ignorance when it comes to Mac based capture systems.

So many posts saying things like "PC is the only way to go" etc.. the people making these claims must still living in 1993.

I run a commercial tape conversion business, and I convert both analog and digital tape to file, DVD, BluRay etc and I have been running Macs EXCLUSIVELY for over 9 years.

I transfer for government organisations, schools, large corporates etc etc and my business is doing great...in fact I have just had a delivery of 4,000 tapes from a company located in a different country to me, who has tracked me down for the quality of work I do.

I also run BlackMagic (which also gets a bad rap here) external and internal (i.e PCI) cards to facilitate my transfers and don't have issues at all.

Reason? I know what I'm doing. I have the correct interfaces between my decks and my capture cards.

Please folks, if you don't have experience using Macs then please don't scare people off who would benefit from basing their system on OSX.

I'm not bagging Windows/PC systems by the way..my point is there are many options..not just those with which you are familiar.

P.S I haven't had a single dropped frame yet - and no, I don't rely on the Blackmagic 'report dropped frame' function to advise me on this - I have other (broadcast level) hardware and software that monitors this in real time.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-26-2018, 01:13 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,461 Times in 2,093 Posts
Your own post reveals the issues of capturing on Mac.