#1  
08-17-2018, 01:23 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I have a paid subscription to a video network service. I can watch it on my computer. On this network service, you can watch individual things and I want to record/save things off of there. I'll be doing this on my computer.

How do I go about doing that?

What program(s) would I need for this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-17-2018, 02:50 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,185
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,931 Posts
Which service? Some have tools for it, some do not. (If this is WWE, you're in luck.)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-17-2018, 04:13 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
It is, haha

edit:
Oops, meant to say it is WWE Network
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-18-2018, 04:36 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,185
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,931 Posts
Get LetMeAtIt: http://www.airesoft.co.uk/WWENetwork

And pay 6 (about $7.65) for the premium upgrade, don't be cheap: http://www.airesoft.co.uk/upgrade

I'd used that for several years, before cancelling my WWE sub back in Feb this year. I wanted to sit in front of my TV, not my computer. I have probably 4tb of shows saved, mostly the Attitude Era stuff. I never saw every RAW episode, sometimes not even whole shows, mostly because of my work schedule back in the day. Rarely saw anything WCW. But now I can.

As a tip, just get the 960x480 streams. Not bigger, not smaller. Balance of good quality and space. (The black pillar bars are encoded into the 720x480 file, hence 960x. I think the bitrate was the 1280kpbs, or something to that effect. Again, not used it in 6 months.)

Enjoy.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-18-2018, 04:41 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Awesome. Thanks for the advice!

I'm going to be putting the matches I downloaded onto DVD. Do you recommend still using those same settings?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
08-18-2018, 04:47 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,185
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,931 Posts
Yeah, but DVD you'll lose some slight quality. What are you using for the conversion and authoring? Personally, I'd only bother using ConvertXtoDVD if converting the streams to disc. Get the 960x480, and let it re-encode to 16x9 720x480. Sometimes you can be lazy, use an all-in-one, and this is one of those times.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
08-19-2018, 12:12 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I've been using DVD styler. I don't think my old DVD making program is compatible with my new computer

Yeah I'm making a set for someone and I have to hav done by like, Thursday with a ways to go, so definitely the laziest, quickest way is what I'm looking for haha

-- merged --

I just got the program. However, it doesn't seem to offer 960x480.

The quality options are
640x360 1284 kbps
960x540 1929 kbps
960x540 2573 kbps
960x720 3218 kbps
1280x720 4829 kbps
Reply With Quote
  #8  
08-19-2018, 12:15 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,185
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,931 Posts
This is it: 960x540 @ 1929 kbps
As mentioned, I'd not used it for 6 months, was going from memory.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Superstar (08-19-2018)
  #9  
08-19-2018, 12:19 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Ok, thanks. Do you know how to make it so it snags only 1 match? I searched the person's name, went to a specific match, took the URL for that match and posted it into the program and I stopped it as it was downloading the entire PPV (not the specific match only) which was over 1300 files, so I cancelled that.

Definitely wasn't expecting that
Reply With Quote
  #10  
08-19-2018, 12:28 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,185
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,931 Posts
You grab whole files. There are no match files, just bookmarks. Most don't even have that. Honestly, the bookmarks all suck, incomplete, not always positioned correctly. I almost never used them for that reason.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #11  
08-19-2018, 12:54 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I'm having some problems with it. When I added the URL and put in my network ID and PW, and hit add job, the attached error is coming up.

I even deleted the program and redownloaded it and still getting this error

Also, since you have to download the entire PPV, and not just a separate match, what program would you suggest that I use to edit everything out, and leave only just the 1 match that I want?


Attached Images
File Type: png LetMeAtIt - Access Denied 8_19_2018 1_26_40 AM.png (10.3 KB, 3 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
08-19-2018, 01:19 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,185
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,931 Posts
As far as the program working, you'll have to ask the developer. Or read their docs/FAQs.

For editing, I'd use the payware TMPGEnc Smart Renderer, it's extremely easy to do. For freeware, no idea, most only cuts at keyframes. Or you'll have to extract to another format, edit, then convert it again to a watchable format. Some things gets messy trying to only use freeware, and this is one of them. H.264 is not easy to edit.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #13  
08-19-2018, 02:17 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Well, easy is definitely a good thing. Quick crash course?

Like, Is it just a basic video timeline, I drag scissors cut, delete what I don't want?

-- merged --

Several questions in this one

Disregard the crash course q, I figured out the program.

I also just downloaded ConvertXtoDVD, as you suggested. For the conversion, I found where to change it to 16x9 as you suggested. But I don't see where to change it to 720x480. Where do I find that option at?

Also, under the Video Processing option, it has it defaulted to Letterbox, under Resize Method. Should I leave it to that, or maybe change it to "Stretch"?

**Update a few minutes after I originally posted this** I did a conversion to test it. After it was done, I saw it made a folder for it, with Video & Audio TS folders, and it was like, 550MB

However, the original file before I converted it, was around 100 mb, so it seemed to make it bigger after converting it. I wasn't expecting that. Did I do it wrong?

Wouldn't it of been better to not convert it, so it stayed as a smaller file?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
09-15-2018, 05:25 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,185
Thanked 2,249 Times in 1,931 Posts
TMPGEnc SR = mostly cutting, some syncing ability. (WWE is pretty good about sync, even better than Netflix/Hulu.)

ConvertXtoDVD only makes 720x480 i NTSC, 720x576 if PAL. No option.

Leave letterbox, respect source AR.

MPEG is larger than H.264, yes.

Yes, leaving it as is, not converting to DVD, is what I did. Keeps file sizes down, and I plan to watch it streaming internally from my HDD anyway. I really don't use discs anymore.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Solutions review: Bad, Bad, Bad hosting! thecoalman Web Hosting 5 08-23-2014 07:21 AM
Network Panda - Reviews? velo.junkie Web Hosting 5 02-19-2013 12:45 AM
Dish Network HD - Is it possible to record it ? MOTUfan Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 4 02-05-2008 04:06 AM
How do i connect a DVD recorder to DISH Network. MOTUfan Capture, Record, Transfer 7 05-28-2007 12:10 AM
Dish network questions? emokid Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 0 10-27-2006 02:08 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM