Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for discs

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-07-2011, 05:29 AM
Free Member

Newbie here. I need a bit of help understanding HDV and how much space / running time I would get on a standard DVD.

I’ve made short films before (SD on Mini-DV) and burned DVDs up to about an hour in length. My question is – if a get a really good camera – say the canon XF100, will I be able to fit an 60-90 mins worth of footage at high quality onto a normal DVD? Or will it require Dual Layer or Blu-Ray technology to do that? (my computer can’t do that!!).

Basically I want to be able to produce films of about 60-90 mins, at the highest HD quality using my current machine (8GB RAM, Six core processor, Pinnacle studio 14HD). Is it possible to fit that quality onto a normal DVD disc?

I’m keen to buy a quality HD camcorder in the next few weeks and would welcome your views. Also, if the storage capacity of the camera is on flash cards or equivalent, does that mean you can insert that into the computer and upload immediately for editing???

Thanks for any help or suggestions!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-07-2011, 09:33 AM
Site Staff | Web Development

Quote:
My question is – if a get a really good camera – say the canon XF100, will I be able to fit an 60-90 mins worth of footage at high quality onto a normal DVD? Or will it require Dual Layer or Blu-Ray technology to do that? (my computer can’t do that!!).
I feel like giving the long answer this morning.

A DVD uses a fixed max resolution of 720x480 (or 720x576 for PAL). This is currently known as "full D1" standard definition. Refer to the following list, to better understand SD vs HD.

Standard definition:
  • CIF - Low Quality (LQ) SD - 352x240 NTSC, 352x288 PAL
  • Half D1 - Standard Quality (SQ) - 352x480 NTSC, 352x576 PAL // Half D1 exceeds most past consumer formats like VHS or 8mm