Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for discs

LinkBack Thread Tools
10-26-2011, 08:09 AM
Free Member

Hi All,
I am work at a university library, and we are going through the process of converting some old vhs tapes to DVD. I have read through the guides on this site and everything has been going pretty well so far. I should also mention that I have little to no experience with video, and am learning as I go along.

To give some context:
I am using a canopus ADVC 300 and Adobe Premiere Pro to capture video in .mov. I am then using Adobe Media Encoder to export the files to MPEG2-DVD, and adjusting the bitrate and audio settings to get a file that can fit onto a single layer dvd. I am also multiplexing the files to create a single .mpg. I will be using Adobe Encore to author the DVDs, although I haven't gotten that far yet.

My problem is that I adjust the bit rate settings and audio and AME shows an estimated file size around 4000 Mb, I have been capping it around 4300Mb. I am using VBR 2 pass as this is supposed to yield the best compression to quality ratio. When the encoding process finishes, the mpg shows in finder as being 5.1Gb, too large for a dvd. Is this a common problem? is there a known amount that AME overshoots this estimate?

Any suggestions would be hugely appreciated, and I would be happy to provide any additional info.

Thanks,
James
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

10-26-2011, 10:38 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,448 Times in 2,080 Posts
Your estimate may be for video only -- not including audio in the estimate.
If you're saving audio as uncompressed PCM WAV, then this would about match the numbers you're giving.

Take screenshots of all AME screens, and I'll see what may be right/wrong in your settings.

... and welcome to the site. Glad that you're finding our information helpful on your project.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.