#41  
05-12-2009, 09:24 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
For a video that I'm not going to restore the audio on, what settings do I use in MainConcept?

Would it be this -

Output Format-
Stream Type - Elementary Video & Audio?
Audio Mode - Layer 2 OR LPCM?

Advanced MPEG Settings -
Audio Settings - PCM? or something different..

Are all these that I listed here right, or should I use different ones? Remember, this is for a 3 hr. video that I'm NOT going to restore the audio on.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #42  
05-12-2009, 09:50 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,318
Thanked 653 Times in 457 Posts
You can go ahead and just encode directly to MPEG Layer II (MP2) at 256kbps. There's no need to go to WAV if no restoration is involved.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
05-12-2009, 10:10 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Ok...
So...here's the settings..
Output Format-
MPEG Type - MPEG 2
Strem Type - This is where I'm confused..Is it Elementary Video and Audio? Elementary Video or Program Video & Audio? There's many options..

Audio Mode- Here are the choices - Layer 1, Layer 2, LPCM, Wave.....Which 1?

In the Advanced Mpeg Settings for Audio Settings, is where I assume you're telling me to to Mpeg Layer II at 256 kbps?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
05-12-2009, 11:11 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,318
Thanked 653 Times in 457 Posts
Well, think through the options.
Program is AUDIO+VIDEO together in a single MPEG file.
Elementary is audio and video in separate files.
The one you pick here is more preference or workflow than anything else. There's no right answer. If you want an answer from me, for the last question you had, then PROGRAM would be my choice.

Layer II is compressed audio, you don't want PCM for non-restored audio, for DVDs. PCM takes up too much space on single-layer discs, especially given your desire to compress and optimize usage of space (352x480, multi hours per DVD, etc).

Yes, MPEG Layer II 256k -- just like you said. See image below.

mainconcept-menu-mp2.gif



- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #45  
05-12-2009, 11:49 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Ok..I'm still trying to learn the meanings of compressed audio..and how they apply to me and what I'm doing etc..

"Layer II is compressed audio, you don't want PCM for non-restored audio, for DVDs. PCM takes up too much space on single-layer discs, especially given your desire to compress and optimize usage of space (352x480, multi hours per DVD, etc). "

In what you wrote here, are you suggesting that I do use Layer II in the Audio Mode? I'll take your advice and use Program Video & Audio in the stream type.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
05-13-2009, 01:48 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Ok..I'm still trying to learn the meanings of compressed audio..and how they apply to me and what I'm doing etc..

"Layer II is compressed audio, you don't want PCM for non-restored audio, for DVDs. PCM takes up too much space on single-layer discs, especially given your desire to compress and optimize usage of space (352x480, multi hours per DVD, etc). "

In what you wrote here, are you suggesting that I do use Layer II in the Audio Mode? I'll take your advice and use Program Video & Audio in the stream type.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
05-13-2009, 01:53 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,318
Thanked 653 Times in 457 Posts
Yes. Correct.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
06-10-2009, 06:25 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
I have all the programs and everything for editing the audio. I have a q about MC though..
For videos that I WILL be editing audio, should I use Elementary Video, or Elementary Video & Audio? From what I've learned here, I'm guessing I should use Elementary Video, since I'm splitting the video & the audio to restore the audio
...am I right?
I also assume it's elementary and not program, because I use program video & audio when I'm not editing audio...is that also right?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
06-11-2009, 12:48 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,318
Thanked 653 Times in 457 Posts
Elementary splits. But I would not use re-encoded audio from MainConcept, I would used the audio that is demuxed from the source recordings output by Womble. That's where you use TMPGEnc to demux, before you go to MainConcept.

It's best to not needlessly re-encode audio, if it can be avoided.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
06-11-2009, 12:58 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Ok...so..are you saying that I should use Elementary video only in MC for videos that I will be editing audio on? Or would I use Program video since the audio will already be split from TMPEG?

And..here's my new workflow..what do you think of it?
Capture
Edit in Womble
Seperate audio from video in TMPEG (for videos IAM editing audio, I skip this step if I'm not going to edit audio)
Encode in MC (elementary video for videos IAM editing audio?)
Convert audio MP2 to WAV in FFMPEG
Restore WAV in Soundforge
Convert restored WAV to AC3 in TMPEG AC3
Author
Burn
Reply With Quote
  #51  
06-11-2009, 07:09 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,318
Thanked 653 Times in 457 Posts
Yep, that will work.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
06-11-2009, 09:43 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Oh..I'm having probs with the post in MC for some reason...so I'll just ask here.. Elem. video or Program video, for video that I'll be editing audio on? (keep in mind, the audio is already split in tmpge before I get to MC)
Reply With Quote
  #53  
06-12-2009, 02:55 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,318
Thanked 653 Times in 457 Posts
If it's just video (no audio), it's always elementary.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #54  
06-12-2009, 03:35 AM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
Ok..thanks
Just for learning purposes..what's the different between elementary video, and program video in MC?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
06-12-2009, 04:04 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,318
Thanked 653 Times in 457 Posts
Program is audio+video in a single file (MPG).
Elementary is audio and video in separate files (MPA+MPV or M2V+MP2).

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #56  
07-06-2009, 07:13 PM
Superstar Superstar is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 652
Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
When I get to Main Concept in my workflow, for a video that is 2 hrs I use CBR of 5000 when I encode, however, for a video that is about 1:33, what CBR should I use? 6,000? 7,000?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #57  
07-07-2009, 11:45 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,318
Thanked 653 Times in 457 Posts
Sure, 6000kbps would be fine. That will compress a little less, maybe give a bit higher quality. Using your "free space" in this manner is always a good idea.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mainconcept or procoder or else what? manthing Encode, Convert for discs 1 04-05-2008 07:28 AM
What encoder for ac3 777sp2 Encode, Convert for discs 5 11-14-2005 01:36 PM
Wanted: settings for mainconcept for AP wigam Encode, Convert for discs 4 09-05-2005 04:55 AM
Tsunami (TDA) AC3 Encoder Quality? mitch Encode, Convert for discs 1 03-22-2005 05:24 AM
LSI USB encoder admin Capture, Record, Transfer 0 02-15-2005 06:07 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM