#1  
05-09-2008, 08:52 AM
cnickle1 cnickle1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: , , USA.
Posts: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If I have video recorded from multiple sources by multiple means and I want to put them together on one dvd, how do I get a consistant volume level on all of the files?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-09-2008, 11:06 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,154
Thanked 2,244 Times in 1,927 Posts
Edit the audio files one by one, normalizing (NOT altering the "volume") each one to a similar level manually.

I generally don't care. I figure people can use the volume on the remote.

This assumes there is no audio hiss. I HATE audio flaws, as they are easy to fix, with minimal effort involved.



- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-11-2008, 11:01 AM
wayshway wayshway is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to wayshway
I sent him a PM on how to do it on DVD Author Pro.
It worked for him.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-14-2008, 02:20 PM
mrwhitethc mrwhitethc is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: , , .
Posts: 32
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does anyone know what TV stations do for movie audio? I would assume they use somthing like normalize to RMS to keep the audio more consistant with less peaks and valleys.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-14-2008, 03:23 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,154
Thanked 2,244 Times in 1,927 Posts
Hardware boards.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-16-2008, 10:34 PM
wayshway wayshway is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to wayshway
Except commercials. Commercials are way too loud.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-16-2008, 11:41 PM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
o hell ya. that pisses me off how loud commercials are when im watching live tv
Reply With Quote
  #8  
05-19-2008, 06:26 PM
wayshway wayshway is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to wayshway
Sometimes if I'm dozzing off a real loud commercial will startle me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
05-20-2008, 02:14 AM
Konfusion Konfusion is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 183
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
its bad for me too cause ill be watching something in surround sound late at night and some shows are really low in volume so i have to turn it up pretty loud on the dial then a commercial comes on and wakes everybody up

Reply With Quote
  #10  
05-20-2008, 09:48 AM
wayshway wayshway is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 100
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to wayshway
I've been watching TV with head phones on lately.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volume during a capture Superstar Capture, Record, Transfer 1 08-10-2009 05:18 PM
ATI MMC registry volume hacks? lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 0 02-15-2005 08:17 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM