Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-22-2023, 08:58 PM
Free Member

I'm not an expert on VCR stuff, so, sorry if I say something dumb.
I was watching some movies on a newly bought NV-FS88, but couldn't not notice that there was excessive graininess on movie tapes; and blue streaks on black parts of the image. I tried manual tracking, and the noise lowered a little bit, but when I used a much cheaper mono vcr, it's quality seemed much better (using the same wires). There was only tape grain, with none of the same blue streaks all over.

But the most interesting is that when I tried self recorded mono tapes - TV recordings and VHSC to VHS transfers on the FS88, they only had tape grain, without any of the blue streaking, even when paused, the image wasn't snowy whatsoever.

(With tape grain I mean the grain from the original footage which isn't moving when paused.)

Could it be because the movies have Hi-Fi audio and it's interfering with the image somehow?

I attached a sample with a movie on pause mode. You can see the excessive graininess which looks the same in play mode.
The recording is off of the CRT screen, sorry about that. I can capture if there's a need.

============

There is another problem which I found out about when I previously had a NV-HS1000. It's colors seemed really desaturated and shifted. So I returned it because no button could fix it, and found this cheaper unit which I'm testing. I noticed that it also had a bit of a desaturated look. But when I put the Noise Filter to EDIT, the colors got fixed. At around 0:04 seconds in the sample video, until the end, I switched from EDIT to on/off. Though it's more noticeable on capture than in this sample.

Is this all normal or could the capacitors be going bad?
The only problem with EDIT is that it's stuck at 50% sharpness, but I'd take that any day instead of ugly colors.

Attached Files