#1  
06-19-2024, 09:06 AM
CaseyStelken's Avatar
CaseyStelken CaseyStelken is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
To my fellow GV-USB2 users who deinterlace with Hybrid software - what does your process look like?

I'm capturing VHS with the GV-USB2 cable via OBS software. My wish is to deinterlace and filter the captured video in Hybrid AFTER I capture it... not while capturing it. But all I seem to be able to capture is progressive video with combing artifacts intact... which Hybrid can't deinterlace. Not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I disabled deinterlacing in OBS... But I don't seem to be able to disable deinterlacing in the video properties for the GV-USB2 cable (see attached image).

I'm hoping to meet a user who captures video via the GV-USB2 and deinterlaces in Hybrid so that I can learn what sort of settings you use for your capture process... I feel like I'm doing something wrong, but I can't quite figure out what.

Any help is very much appreciated - thanks!


Attached Images
File Type: jpg GV-USB2 deinterlace options.jpg (59.2 KB, 2 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-19-2024, 11:14 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,832
Thanked 2,504 Times in 2,129 Posts
Welcome.

Stop using OBS. That software was made for webcams.

Use VirtualDub, which was made for analot videotape capturing (along with analog tuner capturing).

The GV-USB2 is a mediocre quality capture card, but there should be no issues with properly capturing interlacing.

You are correct to NOT want on-the-fly deinterlace during capturing, that does look quite bad. QTGMC in Avisynth/Vapoursynth (with or without Hybrid as GUI) is the ideal deinterlace method. Tip: Usually "faster" preset is best, sometimes "slower" (which blurs/softens), and sometimes on-screen clocks for you to use 25/29.97 instead of 50/59.94.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
06-20-2024, 09:25 AM
CaseyStelken's Avatar
CaseyStelken CaseyStelken is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Stop using OBS. That software was made for webcams.

Use VirtualDub, which was made for analot videotape capturing (along with analog tuner capturing).
This right here is why the past several months of investigating and learning about the best way to capture my VHS tapes (some of them rare, some of them personal, and some of them literally one-of-a-kind documents of major motion picture history waiting to be seen by the public) has been so difficult, haha. I'm not complaining about your response - thank you very much for it! But I feel like I've done an overwhelming amount of reading and learning and watching YouTube videos on the topic, and everywhere I turn is a different opinion for me to consider, and a different method for me to switch to.

But I've also seen your name more than once when searching for answers, so I'll gladly take your suggestion and switch to VirtualDub. Thank you for the help! I'm downloading VirtualDub now, and crossing my fingers that it's a bit easier to set up and use than OBS Studio was, because I'm so very anxious to finally be finished "preparing to capture," and start actually capturing all these tapes that have been staring at me for so long.



So to give you a bit of background, in case you might have any more suggestions (and the time to offer) at the moment:

For a few years I was digitizing tapes via the Elgato cable and software, because I didn't know any better. I was fairly happy with the results, until I started to realize at that it just wasn't as good as I wanted (cropped picture, poor deinterlacing, etc, etc).

So I upgraded my VCR to a JVC HR-S7900U with a TBC, and I recently upgraded to a GV-USB2 cable (which may not be top-of-the-line, but it's giving me results that are MUCH improved over the Elgato cable), and I started using OBS, based on various suggestions I read in various forums and saw in various videos.

Anyway, fortunately I kept all the original tapes... so I began going through them all and capturing them all over again with my new setup. I was happy with the results... until I was started noticing various issues with the deinterlacing, and discovered Hybrid. So I wanted to capture my videos AGAIN without deinterlacing, and process the captured videos through Hybrid, but I couldn't. And that led me here.

This process of capturing my tapes has been so much more complicated than I ever expected it to be, haha. But I'm determined to get it right. I'm not in a place where I can spend thousands of dollars for top-of-the-line equipment, but I'm willing to spend a few bucks for better-than-average results. I feel like I was getting C or D-grade quality with the Elgato... if I can get B quality with my equipment, using the right software choices and appropriate filters, I'll be satisfied.

Anyway, hopefully that all makes sense. Looking forward to seeing how VirtualDub works and getting to work on these tapes once and for all.

Last edited by CaseyStelken; 06-20-2024 at 09:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
deinterlacing, gv-usb2, hybrid, obs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ES15 and ES10, how to enable/disable DNR? BarryTheCrab Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players 2 06-06-2022 07:05 PM
Panasonic DMR-ES15, enable or disable DNR? ThumperStrauss Capture, Record, Transfer 3 01-17-2022 12:41 PM
Disable or enable demo mode in WHM? Brent Web Hosting 0 09-13-2013 06:37 PM
How to disable Munin in cPanel/WHM, but not remove it [SOLVED] kpmedia Website and Server Troubleshooting 0 09-17-2012 09:13 AM
DVD enable/disable option - How to author ? manthing Author, Make Menus, Slideshows, Burn 2 06-14-2006 10:40 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM