Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-24-2012, 10:47 AM
Free Member

Newbie here. I have many VHS tapes of shows that were recorded in EP format to fit more shows on a tape. (I know, paying for that now!!!) I did read the buying guide but just wanted an informed opinion on which unit to purchase. Do I need dynamic drum, or is TBC alone my answer?

The tapes are 30 years old, and still play with wayvy, ghost images and some tracking issues, so I'd rather spend the $ 250-$400 to make sure I get the right player which can restore these to a satisfactory level.

Any help would be appreciated.

Gene
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

07-24-2012, 01:36 PM
Free Member

the best VCR for EP tapes will be the Panasonic AG-1980

HOWEVER... make sure you get either a low hours unit or one that has been recently serviced by a pro (like Jots)
these units are notorious for bad caps and being abused by non-videophile idiots
many AG-1980 decks where sold to schools and not well taking care of.
07-24-2012, 02:40 PM
Free Member

Thanks so much for the information Volks!
07-24-2012, 11:44 PM
Free Member

Also, one advice frequently given by experts on this site is: If those shows are commercially released on DVDs, buy them instead of trying to convert your tapes to DVDs. Studios do much better job in this than an average home hobbyist can.

regards
07-25-2012, 07:46 AM
Free Member

Thank you for that. These are shows I recorded which are not available on DVD. I actually tried to work out a licensing agreement with the production company. Instead of working out a deal, they decided to try and gouge me. So the tapes now sit in the closet.

I appreciate all the advice.
07-25-2012, 08:38 AM
Premium Member

Yea I would also say the AG1980 is the best unit for these types of tapes. However more than likely you would need a lot of work done to the videos in order to restore them.