#1  
05-25-2016, 02:00 PM
JVRaines JVRaines is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 24
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
I have the SignVideo PA-100 and it works great, except the black level adjustment does not operate on the overscan portion of the frame. Thus, I get a prominent dark or light bar at the bottom of the screen that's quite visible in digital captures. I understand this is by design.

There is a website that advertises a modification to expand processing to the full frame. Has anyone ever heard of this modification or this company? Kind of want to know what I'm getting into before I ship my amp to them.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-25-2016, 03:07 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 336 Times in 277 Posts
TGrant Photo is recommended by the people who run this forum. Example.

I don't know whether anyone here has had this modification performed, though. Weirdly, the Studio 1 proc amp I bought off eBay recently does appear to process the whole frame. Maybe the previous owner had it modified, or maybe newer units were set up differently?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-25-2016, 03:23 PM
JVRaines JVRaines is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 24
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Okay, thanks for the information. I bought mine new in 2011, toward the very end of production.

UPDATE: I did a little digging and found the screw that needed to be turned to fix my problem. I'm all for supporting our fellow professionals, but $90 to turn one screw is a bit expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-27-2016, 08:11 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 336 Times in 277 Posts
Surprised it wasn't a little more involved than that. Mind sharing your info?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-27-2016, 08:26 PM
JVRaines JVRaines is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 24
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Here are the four trimmers that control processed picture area in the PA-100. One must take care not to extend the right and bottom edges out of the visible raster or sync signals may become distorted.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg pa_100_scan_area.jpg (121.3 KB, 29 downloads)
Reply With Quote
The following users thank JVRaines for this useful post: lordsmurf (05-29-2016), msgohan (05-27-2016), sanlyn (06-08-2017)
  #6  
05-27-2016, 08:29 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 336 Times in 277 Posts
Perfect, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-29-2016, 08:17 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,823
Thanked 2,501 Times in 2,126 Posts
We'll need to ask him for an explanation.

Even cameras have some overscan noise, so this situatino makes zero sense. Just mask it. Problem solved. The overscan isn't shown even on modern HDTVs. HD feeds also have overscan noise.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
05-29-2016, 08:36 PM
JVRaines JVRaines is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 24
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Here is a frame from a capture made before I adjusted my proc amp. The head-switch noise has been masked. As you can see, there is a prominent band of video at the bottom of the frame which was not affected by my black level adjustment. Sure, I could have masked it out as well, but I am preserving tapes from an historical archive and it's simply not acceptable to lose image to misadjusted equipment. Moreover, these files will be frequently viewed on computer monitors, not HDTVs, that have zero overscan.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg misadjustment.jpg (79.8 KB, 24 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scrolling in Panasonic AG-8700 full frame TBC? paulopereira Video Hardware Repair 7 08-21-2015 10:54 AM
Wanted : SignVideo or Elite Video proc amp djg8544 Marketplace 2 03-21-2012 11:34 PM
What is a *Dual* SignVideo Proc Amp? eclecticmn Capture, Record, Transfer 2 03-12-2010 08:04 PM
SignVideo PA-100 Proc Amp for sale [SOLD] robjv1 Marketplace 6 03-02-2010 07:06 PM
What lenses go on full frame DSLR's? beavereater Photo Cameras: Buying & Shooting 1 01-02-2009 02:17 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM