12-03-2016, 04:42 PM
Free Member

I'm converting my home videos from VHS to DVD. I was able to fix some minor video imperfections with Virtualdub, but I noticed that there were some duplicate frames in random places. I tried using the GetDups Avisynth filter, but it made the video blurry and cut off 3 mins of the video. Does anybody have any advice on removing duplicate frames? I am a novice with Avisynth, so if your solution entails using it, please be as descriptive as possible. Thank you.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

12-03-2016, 05:31 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,307 Times in 982 Posts
Can't help you without an unprocessed short sample. If you are capturing to a lossy codec you're already in trouble.
Random duplicate frames indicates a bad capture and malfunctioning capture setup.
You're not giving enough information about how the tape was played, the hardware used, the capture device or capture software, or the codec used for the capture.
12-03-2016, 06:35 PM
Free Member

If you play the video in Virtualdub frame by frame you will the duplicates.I used AVS Video Recorder to capture video played on a VCR with a composite video connection. Mediainfo says that the compression mode is lossy even though I didn't choose any codecs before recording. AVS seems to do it by default. My capture device was the usb capture device provided with this https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._al_bw_c_x_3_w

Attached Files
File Type: avi sample video.avi (5.04 MB, 10 downloads)
12-03-2016, 07:58 PM
Premium Member

Thank you for the sample.

There's bad news and good news. Bad news first:

There are two major framing problems. With every 6 frames, frames 5 and 6 are duplicates. After each set of duplicates, 2 frames later there is a dropped or missing frame.