09-03-2018, 12:56 PM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 124
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
|
|
I am experimenting with GScript as a way to add If, Then, Else functionality to AviSynth. It's not working so far. I am stuck with VirtualDub and AvsPmod both issuing a "Script error: syntax error" that points to my use of the { character to mark the beginning of the statement. I've included the section of the test scrip that is giving me trouble.
Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth\plugins\External Filters\GScript_11\GScript.dll")
#Scene 1:
StartFrame = 0
EndFrame = 7809
For (FrameCount = StartFrame, EndFrame, step =1) {
ColorYUV(gain_y=70,off_y=0,cont_y=80,off_u=0,cont_u=256,off_v=-4,cont_v=256,opt="",showyuv=false)
}
I have tried a variety of positions for the {. I eliminated spaces before it, I moved it to another line, etc. The syntax error always shows up and points to the { character. This is the proper character according to AviSynth grammar and descriptions in the GScript plugin description. Any thoughts on why the error occurs?
Thanks,
Steve
|
Someday, 12:01 PM
|
|
Ads / Sponsors
|
|
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
|
|
|
09-03-2018, 06:37 PM
|
|
Site Staff | Video
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,994
Thanked 2,364 Times in 2,016 Posts
|
|
This is one of those things that I tried once or twice, long ago, never got it to work, and just moved on. The reason was most assuredly because I wanted to do something, and the script example I found online used it. But it never worked. And that happens quite a bit with Avisynth, you find fubar/non-working scripts (and usually from years ago).
I never see anybody posting a script that has this in use.
|
09-04-2018, 01:56 AM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 124
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
|
|
I tried using the structure someone else had on this site. It didn't work either.
AviSynth+ has the GScript built in to add the If-Then-Else function. By adding the new functions, the developers were able to eliminate part of the syntax and make it easier to use.
|
09-04-2018, 02:02 AM
|
|
Site Staff | Video
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,994
Thanked 2,364 Times in 2,016 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevevid
In general, do you recommend moving to AviSynth+ from AviSynth?
|
No.
Use Avisynth+ x64 for 64-bit filters, or 32/64 that are faster in 64 (like QTGMC).
But regular current Avisynth 2.6 for the 32-bit.
|
09-10-2018, 11:35 PM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 124
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf
No.
Use Avisynth+ x64 for 640bit filters, or 32/64 that are faster in 64 (like QTGMC).
But regular current Avisynth 2.6 for the 32-bit.
|
WOW, Avisyth+ is really embracing the future. It supports 640 bit technology.
I had to do this. I couldn't help myself.
Steve
|
09-11-2018, 12:07 AM
|
|
Site Staff | Video
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,994
Thanked 2,364 Times in 2,016 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevevid
WOW, Avisyth+ is really embracing the future. It supports 640 bit technology.
I had to do this. I couldn't help myself.
Steve
|
As documented in the forum at the time, I had a catastrophic MS episode that left me half paralyzed some years ago. I had to learn how to walk again, etc, including how to type with two hands. One of my many remnants of this ordeal is that my fingers can sometimes offset on the keyboard, and I don't realize it.
The keys to the right of the keyboard are the worst, like
0-
,.
./
p[
][
;l
';
m,
I often scan my posts for those transpose typos, before submitting, but I miss some.
I agree, it can make amusing typos  that make me go
|
09-12-2018, 01:23 PM
|
|
Free Member
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 124
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
|
|
I am so sorry! I didn't know. I'll restrain myself in the future.
Steve
|
09-12-2018, 06:52 PM
|
|
Site Staff | Video
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,994
Thanked 2,364 Times in 2,016 Posts
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevevid
I am so sorry! I didn't know. I'll restrain myself in the future.
Steve
|
No, it's fine. I think such typos can be amusing too.
This was probably the 3rd typo comments I'd gotten within a week, so it was time I said something about it. Health is something I struggle with, and it presents as random things. Typos is a main one, and then the other is that I have to disappear offline for days at a time. But I always come back.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM
|