#1  
07-28-2020, 09:19 AM
BIGMEDIADINO BIGMEDIADINO is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello,

this is my first post on here after reading through loads of other threads, there's a wealth of knowledge here and you are all extremely helpful, so thank you.

I make a lot of graphics on after effects and record them onto VHS, so I can re-capture them. I'm new to the analogue hardware game and am working with a very basic set up right now, consisting of an LG VCR with no TBC and an intensity shuttle (usb 3.0). This worked fine, until I started re-recording the graphics over and over, to degrade the quality more (I'm trying to achieve an old tape effect). I found that the intensity shuttle would struggle to hold a signal and the capture would be mostly black.

I did a bit of research and very hastily bought a genlock(or what i assumed was a genlock) from eBay, for 70, to no avail.

My Question is. Is there a cost effective piece/pieces of equipment that I could add to the chain, or replace one of the items i'm using now, that would help me capture tapes that are purposefully degraded? I'd like to experiment with up scaling in the future also as it would help if i could deliver HD graphics in this style, but I'm taking baby steps as this is all new learning for me.

If anyone has any information/reading material, that could point me in the right direction, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks a lot!
Dino.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-28-2020, 09:30 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 12,158
Thanked 2,244 Times in 1,927 Posts
You must have a frame TBC added in. Anything else would improve quality, and you don't want that here. The frame TBC rebuilds the signal, and image corrections are minimal.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: BIGMEDIADINO (07-28-2020)
Reply




Tags
capture, glitch, hardware, tape, vhs

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The joys of capturing Hi8 tapes? (Not! Sony tapes suck!) NJRoadfan Capture, Record, Transfer 20 03-27-2022 09:51 AM
Matrox Mojito Max workflow for capturing? CvikoM Capture, Record, Transfer 9 06-03-2020 03:31 PM
Capturing Workflow - from VHS to lossless for later editing hecky Capture, Record, Transfer 11 04-04-2020 06:21 AM
Assess my workflow for capturing commercial VHS robertzombie Project Planning, Workflows 0 03-18-2020 07:27 AM
Capturing workflow Hi8/8mm via FireWire? ehbowen Capture, Record, Transfer 3 02-09-2018 10:49 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM