Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Project Planning, Workflows

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-20-2010, 09:31 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by t0hierry
Hello,
I'm a non-video artist and I recently restored a 9mm film of my grandparent's wedding, shot in 1929 which had been digitized by an outside service. I wrote and recorded music to it and exported the Vegas Pro 10 video as a 5.5 Gig avi file. I would like to archive this video on a DVD that can last a long time.

I read quite a few posts, and I'm confused enough to seek your advice. What DVD would you recommend? Thank you for your time. You're the only one who knows what you're talking about in the thread I visited and I appreciate any advice you care to give.

Best regards.
thierry
Let me reply as I go...

Quote:
I'm a non-video artist
You know, that's often a benefit more than a negative! You understand something else, such as photo, painting, audio or what-have-you. That can be important, as video is little more than thousands of smaller works of art going by in the blink of an eye!

Quote:
restored a 9mm film of my grandparent's wedding, shot in 1929 which had been digitized by an outside service
I bet you're referring to 9.5mm film: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/9.5_mm_film
That's impressively old film stock.

Quote:
exported the Vegas Pro 10 video as a 5.5 Gig avi file
KEEP THE AVI FILE !!! Most of the time, AVI files are unreasonably large, and too cumbersome to archive without relying on very large hard drives. At only 5.5GB, you have a file that should be kept on hard drive, as well as duplicated to DVD+R DL media. Better yet, use VirtualDub to split that file in half (using stream copy "compression" that does NOT re-encode), and burn to two single-layer DVD+R blanks.